Skip to content

Twitter Etiquette

22 March, 2014

So I’ve been chatting to a girl I met on twitter recently. I don’t remember how our paths crossed, perhaps around Christmas, but at some point we started following each other. We have quite a lot in common – we support the same football team, watch some of the same TV shows, have broadly similar political views, are both fans of the Muppets (an essential quality I look for in people), are both cat people. Oh, and we live in the same town.

Which leads me to my question. What is the etiquette for crossing over from the Twittersphere to the real world? How do I ask her out? I’m not asking literally how, even a useless coward like me can DM her and ask her out, but is it the done thing? If/when I do eventually send that “so, do you fancy meeting for a drink” message, I want to be sure it is the next logical step from someone she is friends (in the old-fashioned, actual sense of the word) with, rather than a message which  will trigger the online stalker freak alarm.

I guess the answer to this is “timing” – keep chatting, get to know each other, progress naturally. But I am the world’s worst at timing. I either wait too long until I am permanently parked in the Friend Zone and the moment has passed, or I don’t wait long enough and some across as desperate, needy and probably a potential serial killer.

My guess is this particular act of wooing will fall into the “wait too long” category but let’s see shall we? I may or may not report back with any developments depending whether there are any or not, and what those developments are.

19 Comments
  1. Just ask privately. You have nothing to lose. Give it a go! You’ve been chatting since Christmas so it can’t hurt to try now.

  2. Yea sooner than later is good, the longer you wait the more you’ll build up expectations!

  3. I think she all ready knows you want to ask her out…I,m assuming your blog post gets automatically posted to twitter. Mine does and I didn’t know it for the longest time.

  4. *** sigh *** … Invite her to go see The New Muppets Movie (in theaters now)with you, you right eejit!!! Oh, not ‘dutch’ of course.

  5. As soon as a comment is made about bad reception or dodgy phone connection and lets face it these days all the phone networks seem to play up sooner rather than later, suggest you can always meet for coffee and a chat, make a joke of it and promise to keep sentences to 140 characters or less and see how she reacts :D

    • Top advice Paula! I think the Muppet film next week is my route to a night out but if there is a power cut in that mean time…
      I love the line about only talking in 140 characters I think I might have to steal that when we meet up :)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Make sure you’re sitting down to read this… | The Reclining Gentleman

Speak Your Brains!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– my twisted view of the world!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

tales 'n' taradiddles...

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

west517

the world we know

Beginning Life at 43

Its never too late to do what you dream. Just believe in you. The rest will follow.

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

sliceandserve

A lemon once saved my life

MorgEn Bailey's Writing Blog

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

Jae Lei Nyght

Life. Love. And Other Useless Things.

cravesadventure

Travel Experiences Out West

Ezra Won't Shut Up

Poetry, musings, and other miscellany. If I put it here, *fingers crossed* I can talk less and listen more in real life.

Creative Noodling

Where I, Marian Green, write about romance, relationships, emotional connections, sex and life as a 30-something woman with a penchant for falling in love.

joannebest

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

An American in Iceland (and other places too)

I said what's cooler than being cool? ICE- LAND!

Ade Branwell

Writing novels, rewriting novels, editing, worrying

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 689 other followers

