Skip to content
Tags

Rollercoaster

21 March, 2012

There are times when writing is so hard i cant bear to speak to anyone for days. it makes me want to curl up under the duvet and cry until the urge to write goes away and lets me live a life of not being an artist, just like everyone else.

And then there are days like today when i spent my lunch break plotting, with the ideas coming so fast i couldn’t keep up with them.I made notes in four different documents at once as the ideas bred ideas. Future plot arcs, realisations about characters and what in their past made them who they are, decisions on the nuts and bolts of moving people about to get them where they need to be for events to happen. All shouting at once, desperate for my attention. Only a writer, a musician, an artist knows the euphoric feeling that comes from knowing you have been genuinely inspired and you have channeled ideas from somewhere.  These are the days that make the pain worthwhile. These are the days when the genius turns up for work aswell and gives me all these thoughts and pointers. These are the days when I can look back at the work I have just produced and believe that maybe there is this one thing that I really can do.

As a friend said to me, sometimes it would be easier to be a Muggle. But I’m not, I’m a writer. It’s What I Do. I have been since I could read and write. From about the age of eight i would type stories on my Dad’s huge clunky typewriter. Then it was for pleasure I suppose, but I didn’t really think about why or how I wrote, it was just What I Did. And many years later, I’m still doing it.

From → Writing

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

