Skip to content

Psycho Killer

22 April, 2012

“When I have nothing to say, my lips are sealed; say something once, why say it again?”

 

David Byrne wasn’t talking about blogging, tweeting, facebook or any social media when he wrote that lyric, but this is the phrase through which I filter anything I say online. Now I am in review and rebuild mode, I am applying this to my writing aswell.

If a scene or chapter doesn’t further the plot, reveal something new about a character, or otherwise have a point, it gets cut. It might be a beautifully written description, it may contain a witty line from one of the characters, but that in itself isn’t enough reason for it to stay. There are scenes where one character explains an event that has already been covered, which is usually because the plot is based in different places and characters need to be brought up to speed on what the others have been up to. Unless there is a very good reason to keep both scenes though, they will have to have their catch up among themselves while the action is elsewhere. But if the retelling is for the purpose of showing the event from a different POV, and/or it shows the reader that what they thought about the event the first time was wrong, then I will consider its case. Maybe.

This editing process is bloody hard work, especially as I haven’t yet finished the first draft so I still have the ideas in my head that are necessary to complete it, and I need to get them written down. But at the same time the revisions I need to make are constantly occuring to me, and I can’t afford not to listen to them and give them my attention. It’s a time management question again, but also a matter of priorities. Writing one book is stresstful enough. The stress of writing two books at the same time when they are different versions of the same book, that’s more than double.

From → Writing

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

