Skip to content

Unreliable Friend

7 May, 2012

Previously on TRG: Met someone ‘L’,  she was everything I looked for, she thought I was wonderful, she decided I wasn’t so great, we didn’t work out, she met someone else.

We met through a mutual friend E, who is a very good friend of both of us. But now, the events between me and L have made it very difficult for me to see E. I don’t want to go to social gatherings that E arranges as I don’t want to run into L. I don’t want to see E when there aren’t lots of other people around because I don’t want to discuss L with her, I know that L will have talked to her and I don’t want to put her in the awkward position of being a confidante from both sides. On the few occasions since that I have met up with E, there has been no mention of L, the subject has been the elephant in the room for me, and I can’t relax. This week, E is giving a talk at a local society we are all members of and I would love to give her my support. But I can’t face going, and I can’t risk bumping into L if I go. I will be letting E down, and I can’t tell her why.

The answer, obviously, is that I need to let go, move on, all those other cliches. Meeting L was a hugely positive event in my life, I don’t meet many people that show an interest in me . Well, it was positive at the time, but it didn’t work out. I accept that, but my way of accepting is to bury it. To shove the emotions and the events to the back of the cupboard along with all the other stuff I don’ t want to deal with, and force the door shut. Which is why I don’t want to see L, or really anyone much, and why I have become more of a recluse than I was before. The main beneficiary is my writing, which is now having more attention than ever before.  But the one who has suffered most, and deserves it the least, is E who is now being badly treated by an Unreliable Friend.

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

