Skip to content

Breakthrough in my internet addiction

18 June, 2012

I blogged the other day about my inability to stop checking my stats and notifications while i am supposed to be writing, and complained that i can’t just unplug my laptop from the internet because i am listening to radio 1 shows from the past week (Annie Mac Skream & Benga, Friction, Benji B amongst others).

Well, i have found a solution so obvious that there is a red mark on my forehead from slapping it so hard. My phone has wifi, and it has the BBC i player built in. So tonight, the phone is plugged into the hifi instead of the laptop, and i am listening to Skream and Benga, As soon as i have posted this (ok, and checked facebook) i will… yes i WILL, unplug the dongle from the laptop and work without checking facebook, twitter, wordpress, emails, football scores, weather forecasts and all those other timewastings that can be left for another few hours.

And anyway, any american followers (and indeed the majority of WP) are 5 or 6 hours behind so you will all be at work and not reading till my bedtime. OK, I’m tagging this, then I’m posting it, then I’m unplugging. Gulp, i feel a bit sick.

From → Blogging, Writing

4 Comments
  1. TheOthers1 permalink

    Did you get work done then? I’m telling you, setting a timer works! I managed almost 700 words in 30 mins just now and I’m not tempted to do anything on the internet in that time.

    • i did pretty well, i set myself a target of no internet till the 2hour show i was listening to finished but that seemed like forever! i did have a sneaky look once or twice but still got a fair bit done. i don’t think cold turkey is the answer for me, i will have to work up to a total blackout, but i did feel quite pleased with myself today. I’m editing and rebuilding so it’s hard to say how many words i actually wrote, how many i shuffled around and how many i deleted! but the chapter i worked on today is about 2.3k
      well done on your 700 in 30 mins, i doubt i could even type that much never mind write 🙂

  2. Good for you! And if I’m doing my math right you should be getting the last of your shut-eye about now. : ) Have a happy Tuesday!

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

