Skip to content

Video Blog – Riverside Park

28 July, 2012

Hello bloggers and readers. And today i can also say hello viewers and listeners. On the suggestion of Madame Weebles i have decided to start posting a few videos featuring the town of my birth, life and unrequited loves. It also features the voice of a Real Englishman, whose accent is 100% Southampton born, bred and buttered.

Southampton is a city with 2 rivers, a port, marinas, and loads of parks. Riverside Park is about a mile from where i live, and i have always lived within a mile or so of it. You can (and mostly i have) jog, walk, cycle, skateboard, play football, cricket, golf, have a go on the little train, teach your kids how to ride bikes on the training roads, chill and watch the world go by.Β  if you are a teenager you can hang around on the swings with other teenagers after dark, drinking cider and trying to snog them and/or get them to go into the bushes with you to rub parts of yourselves against each other.

So enough rambling, here’s the video:

From → Blogging, Video

59 Comments
  1. LOL, as an Isle of Wighter originally, the second paragraph made me laugh out loud. V. Funny.

    • Im planning on doing a vid of west quay / mayflower park at some point so i’ll make a point of mentioning the Red Funnel to the Ille de Blanc

  2. Splendid, Mr. Reclining Gentleman sir, SPLENDID. See, I was right. You do have a fantastic voice. The women on my side of the pond will be all swoony.

    I have to admit that I was a little puzzled at first by your blog title because Riverside Park is one of the bigger parks in NYC—it’s a beautiful park, but people have been known to be attacked and/or murdered there. The idyllic Riverside Park seen here is quite different.

    Expect a reblog shortly…

    • to my knowledge, noone has been attacked or murdered in our Riverside Park. Although there is the ocassional raised eyebrow or tut if someone cycles on the footpath.
      Glad my voice has your approval πŸ™‚

  3. Reblogged this on Fear No Weebles and commented:
    One of my new bloggy friends. The Reclining Gentleman, offers a lovely slice of his hometown of Southampton, England, in a video entry today. I told him he should post something with a recording of his voice because chicks dig the accent.

    So I offer this reblog to you as a soothing elixir after the debacle that was yesterday’s Olympics opening ceremonies. I personally found them so sickeningly cloying that my insulin level shot through the roof. I had to watch Death Wish and all the sequels just to get it back to the upper limit of normal. I feel better now.

    But I digress. Go to TRG’s blog. Watch the lovely video, and listen to his lovely voice and tell him how smokin’ hot it is.

  4. Dear RC — you come recommended from Madame Weebles. Loved the video and your narration and look forward to reading/hearing more. Welcome!!

  5. That was lovely!

  6. This is awesome! I found this through Weebles’ site. I love to travel, but life being what it is, I don’t get to go as many places as I’d like. And much more than the big cities I’ve visited, I love the smaller places. Now, Southampton, at 200K+ is hardly small, but with so many other British cities (most particularly London) competing for the world’s attention, it’s easy to get lost in the jumble. Thanks for this, because although vicarious travel isn’t real travel, it’s the next-best thing.

    • Thanks for dropping by! Given that many cruise ships go from here (and famously so did the mayflower and the titanic), we do get our fair share of visitors.
      More vicarious travelling to follow soon…

  7. I’m here thanks to Mme. Weebles reblog. I was also briefly flummoxed by the title of your post. For nearly 30 years I’ve resided a block away from NYC’s Riverside Park (and have yet to be attacked or murdered). Your swan-infested Riverside Park looks idyllic. I appreciated your narration. Since I’m lesbian your accent does not make me swoon at all, so even though it does not sound “smokin’ hot” to me I’m glad you enunciate well and you don’t speak in incomprehensible “Trainspotting”-type style.

    • I had no idea there was Riverside Park in NYC (Central seems to grab all the attention). The swans are in charge in our park, if they want to cross the road – or just stop and stand in the middle of it – well, that’s what happens. There is a pub at the end called The White Swan where they roam up from the river bank into the garden. Idyllic indeed, and so very english.

  8. That was lovely. Thanks for posting this.

  9. Yes, another New Yorker here who was confused by the Riverside Park post…we can be so provincial here! Thanks for sharing!

    • Riverside Park is also great place to eat chips too. Just thought i’d throw a bit more transatlantic confusion in there πŸ˜‰ Thanks for watching, there will be more soon

      • Riverside Park becomes Riverbank Park as far north on Manhattan as I live. And on the weekends it is a great picnic favorite…god only knows what they eat then! Looking forward to more from your end! All the best, M πŸ˜‰

  10. whiteladyinthehood permalink

    Sexy Voice!!!

  11. Yes we american women (the straight ones at least) usually love an English accent. Keep talking!

  12. Another ex Weebles. My hometown is also Southampton, 3000 residents, in Ontario, Canada. Named after yours. We have only one river, a marina, a couple of small parks, and the only pair of swans are the ones my club put into a small pond in the center of town. Yours looks much nicer. Wish I could visit. Watch a lot of transplanted BBC shows, so your accent doesn’t thrill me quite as much as it does the straight American women. I look forward to the continued tour.

  13. Madame Weebles is responsible for pointing me in the direction of your blog. It’s lovely. Southampton looks beautiful from the video–very serene. (I guess at that hour of the day when no one is drinking cider or rubbing body parts it would be..?)

  14. How nice to meet a fellow countryman. Lovely post.

  15. Just lovely!!!!

  16. Ooooh, Madame Weebles seems to have good taste in Englishmen. I look forward to reading (and hearing) more.

  17. Delilah permalink

    Simply cannot wait for the next audio tour!

    • I’m afraid you’ll have to. But if you keep coming back here in the meantime it will help my stats πŸ˜‰

      • Delilah permalink

        No worries. I would ask the same of you, but I’ve been struggling to post anything of any substance. Also, I second the nomination for use of the word knickers in your next video. πŸ™‚

      • ok, it looks like the word is in. I’m not sure how i am going to work it into the subject matter though, that will be a challenge.

        Perhaps each time i post a video i should ask for requests for words people want to hear in the next one? Or would that be selling out my artistic principles for popularity and blog hits?

      • Delilah permalink

        No more than if I recorded my southern accent saying ya’ll which would gain attention from the Northern Yanks as well as the Brits.

      • is that an offer? Are you going to post a video? I doooo love a southern accent!

      • Delilah permalink

        I just might…since you asked. Although, my southern accent is a bit tainted. I’m a mimic. My voice tends to change depending on who I talk to. I work in Customer Service so I talk to people from all over the world. I can sound like a Yankee (which is our northern US folks) and a southerner. I can speak a little Russian and I’m told it’s spot on. And yes, I even can pull off a British accent…possibly not as well though.

      • yes please!!you could do a selection of accent masterclass videos πŸ™‚
        i know what you mean, accents can be “sticky” cant they, we all tend to pick up other people’s dont we?
        oooooh ive always wanted to speak russian. thats on my “one day i’ll get round to it” list

      • Delilah permalink

        Well, I may be able to help you with ladies then. I will spell this phrase how it should sound when you say it.
        “Ya tebya lublue” That my dear fellow, is how to say I love you in Russian. πŸ™‚ I will throw in a little Russian in my video. Now, I just have to find something worth filming.

      • thanks Delilah, i will be practising that while i’m waiting for the next lesson in your video!

  18. “A tiny glimpse”, your ‘accent’ sounds almost like mine. (But I lived til a few years ago in Norff Lund’n. Innit.) Curious what people on the other side of the pond enjoy! πŸ˜‰ (Hello Mrs Weebly-person!)

    As you can tell, I came over from her reblog. Now I shall stretch my legs (but not too far or when I stand up I’ll fall over from their elasticity) and have a read of your other posts!

  19. Not just the guys. Americans in general like my accent (not that many people online have heard it. I did have a blog a few months ago in which I put videos of myself speaking. Have since.. ahem… got rid of those from the blogosphere!) Still, at least someone likes it. I’m not fond of my own voice. Okay, you – enjoy the adoration! I’m off to read some more of your posts!

  20. TheOthers1 permalink

    Seriously, your voice. My adoration just hopped up a notch. πŸ˜‰

  21. Really pleasing video of the rive and birds..

  22. Lovely video. Love your authentic accent too. Not many of those around these days.

    • thank you so much, that means a lot. Ive lived here my entire life (Southampton, not the park πŸ™‚ ) and always within a mile or so of Riverside

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Video Blog – Walls and West Quay « The Reclining Gentleman

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❀️ welcome to my secret blog ❀️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

