Skip to content

The Next Big Thing

7 October, 2012

Massive thanks to Kimber Vale who tagged me in her Next Big Thing post. I don’t need asking twice to bore you with a few details of my WIP, so here goes:

 

1. Name of my newest book:

The working title is Four, as there are four central characters. But it may also turn out to be the first in a series of four, with each character in turn being the central point in their own story.

2. Where did my idea come from?

I can’t claim the idea. It was suggested by a friend as we walked along a beach in Cornwall where the book is set.

3.  What genre is my book?

Genre is so hard to place sometimes – I would say contemporary fiction, but is that too wide? It’s a modern tale of four cousins who were close as children but who as adults have become estranged. There is humour, black humour, drama, mystery, betrayal and romance.

4.  Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This project started life as (and is still intended to be adapted into) a TV drama, so I have always had TV actors in mind.

Rick, the main character, would be played by Benedict Cumberbatch:

Julian by Mark Gatiss:

Anna by Helen Baxendale:

 

Gina by Sally Phillips:

There is also a fifth semi-central character who i have shamelessly based entirely on the love of my life, ex-S Club member and Primeval actress Hannah Spearritt:

 

5. One(-ish) line synopsis of my book:

They spent every childhood holiday together, and they haven’t spoken for years.  But why? What lies were told, who betrayed who, who kissed who?

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Hopefully by an agency. I’ve nothing against self-publishing or e-publishing but my aim is to be in print (assuming there are still books by the time I finish!).

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I took eighteen months to get 75% of the way, then decided I didn’t like the main plot strand. I rethought, rebuilt and started again. Six months later I am back to the 75% mark on the second draft, with a third of the first draft now in the bin.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

As it was originally devised as a TV drama, it is most like This Life, but brought to a 21st century audience.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The idea of this book came from a friend’s suggestion (as I said in question 2) but the inspiration and the desire to write a book has been in me since I learned to read.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? 

Rick, the main character, is a prize arsehole. He is rude, sexist, obnoxious, arrogant, and tremendous fun to write and to read. As the story unfolds, we come to learn why he is how he is, what events in his past caused him to be that way, and how he reacts when more secrets from his childhood are revealed to him.

 

This is the bit where i am meant to link to 5 more writers and ask them to answer these questions about their WIP, but to be honest i have lost track of who has a big work on the go, and whether they are ready to share it with the rest of WP. And i know some people don’t like memes and awards.
So instead i will throw it open: Any readers of my blog who want to share a few sneak preview details of their Next Big Thing, please feel free to do so, I’d love to hear about it…

From → Blogging, Writing

2 Comments
  1. 1) Kimber Vale is the coolest name ever. I want to change my name.

    2) Your book title is excellent. I’m intrigued.

    • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

      1) it’s great isn’t it?

      2) well it should be finished in 6 months and i will be needing beta readers….

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

