Skip to content

All change at work

13 October, 2012

I told you recently that I was going to a Jamie Oliver kitchenware party. You won’t be surprised to hear that I didn’t meet the woman of my dreams, but I did buy a rather fetching tea cosy. I decided I was never going to learn to knit well enough to make my own, so twelve quid seemed a good investment. It’s now at work keeping the tea warm for GAW and me.

In other news, Larry is getting a big boy now, and so has moved house. GAW helped me do this a few lunchtimes ago. He seems happier and even appears to have grown a bit since then too.

Of course when I say ALL change, some things remain the same. GAW is still with her bf, I am still keeping my lust to myself, I still have more work to do than one person can manage in the usual working day, and I still want to leave. Hopefully some or all of these things will also change shortly, and I will keep you posted.

In the meantime, here’s a pic for you to enjoy:

 

 

From → Blogging, Pictures

24 Comments
  1. I’ve always been perplexed about the usefulness of a tea cosy…now I finally get it. Thanks! xoM

    • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

      the clue is in the name – it keeps your tea cosy ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Margarita permalink

        Yes, I get that. lol! My experience of drinking tea is: you make it, you drink it, when do you keep it cosy? So your visual: brilliant! At least to me ๐Ÿ™‚ xoM

      • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

        even i can’t drink a whole pot in one go, so the rest needs to be cosy. and i make the tea a bit before GAW gets in the office so it stays warm for her. see, i look after her ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Margarita permalink

        Ahhh, I make tea one CUP, not POT at a time. Pots definitely need a cosy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

        one cup in the morning is never enough!

  2. TheOthers1 permalink

    Lol. Love the picture in Larry’s pot. I hope things change for you soon as well.

  3. I don’t think your tea is cozy. I think it is suffocating. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But Larry looks happy, probably because he has such a fetching nametag.

    • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

      Well it’s october, even the teapot needs a jumper on! And yeah, larry loves his tag ๐Ÿ™‚

      • flipside records permalink

        I wrote you a tiny poem, using a few of the words you gave me. I will write more using the rest. But that’s the one that came to me first.

      • Ignore me. I was using Yousei’s list actually. But yours is coming up.

      • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

        didnt think i recognised the words. but i enjoyed the not #3 comment ๐Ÿ™‚

      • flipside records permalink

        That was definitely for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

        no #3 for me – that sounds about right ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. A friend of mine knits tea cosies. But the one you bought is fancier than hers. Larry’s looking good! Sometimes they just need a new house to spread out in. I still have to try growing a lemon pip myself, maybe I can have a Larry type plant of my own.

    • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

      yeah grow one, yours and Larry will be transatlatic cousins

  5. I think your tea pot is ready for the slopes – skiing. Larry looks healthy for a work plant! The photo makes me think of wild animals in a pseudo “natural” environment. You must have those special lightbulbs that mimic sunlight.

    • yep, a very cosy pot indeed!
      i honestly dont know how i’ve managed to get Larry to grow so well. It feels like they use special lightbulbs that drain your enthusiasm. whenever i get there i have this feeling of “i dont want to do anything”

      • jayne ayres permalink

        You made me laugh – I’ll have to stay away from THOSE lightbulbs. Jayne

  6. Oh. My. God. I thought that part of Harry Potter with the knitwear for crockery was fiction. Turns out I was mistaken.

    • The Reclining Gentleman permalink

      yep, we really are that eccentric

  7. Now that’s exactly what I do love about you British people: you’re so funny and always make me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twistโ€“ Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

