Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Battery

16 November, 2012

Big thanks as usual to Rochelle for running FriFic and for this week’s prompt:

I have come in at exactly 100 words, all comments and criticisms welcome.

 

The lid doesn’t fit on the jar today, it must be full. It’s one year, four months, eight days since I started saving dead batteries from the kids’ toys. Since I stopped believing his apologies, his promises it would never happen again, his pleas for one last chance. Since I made that call to my brother, and we moved here. Since I called the police like I should have done a long time ago.

They charged him with battery, so it seemed appropriate to save them, to remind me. And with every one saved, the pain fades a little more.

 

13 Comments
  1. FriFic… I like that… in fact, I may steal that. I also liked your story… damn clever… two types of Battery in the jar. Nice one, RG.

  2. Very good RG. Mine is silly. I have to say this is quite fun.

  3. Wow. This piece is perfectly pithy.

  4. Nice play on your battery of words. And a good take on the prompt.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday Fictioneers – Battery | The Reclining Gentleman

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

