Skip to content

Busy Weekend 2

19 November, 2012

I got paid on Thursday, so on Saturday I had the MOT done on the car. As I have done less than 3000 miles since last year, I was fairly confident all would be fine (except the suspension which needed looking at) but still, my MOT is an annual breath-holding as I hope nothing major needs doing that would mean the money I have saved over the year will have to be spent on a new catalytic converter or set of tyres or somesuch rather than Christmas. The suspension did need work, as I knew, but the whole thing still only cost me £115. Thank god the clutch isn’t part of the MOT as that is completely nackered and will cost a bloody fortune. But that can wait till after Christmas. It’s needed replacing for two years so a few more weeks won’t matter.

Just two weeks ago I told you how I had done nothing towards Christmas at all and spent the weekend filling jars with various goodies to go in my Christmas hampers, but with the MOT done, shopping could begin. A few bits in town Saturday, a few bits online Sunday, and we are on course and pretty much on budget. With five weeks to go, I am over halfway there and yes, I WILL be able to buy pressies and still afford to eat this year!

An afternoon and evening of cooking Saturday means onion chutney, plum jam and mini Christmas cakes are now done for the hampers which are now almost done. Add to that the fullsize Christmas cake I made for my own personal collection and it was another busy weekend at Reclining Towers. And I still found time for a bit of work on the allotment and a whole bunch of writing. It’s amazing how much I can get done when my mood and my enthusiasm lets me.

From → Blogging

6 Comments
  1. I would love to cook with you. We’d have so much fun. Even if the car ran like shit. Giggle.

  2. Onion chutney! Yum.

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

