Skip to content

Me, GBM, house music and a beach

13 December, 2012

A couple of background details I’m not sure I told you: GBM is from London, and only moved to my town about three years ago. She has italian parents, lived in Italy for a few years before then, and we met when she signed up for the italian class I was studying at the time.Β  The first time we met was in class when she sat next to me. The second time was at a garden party where we spent a sunny afternoon discovering we had the same taste in house/dubstep/dnb and that we shared a huge number of favourite tunes.

So a few weeks back, we went to London for the day so that she could show me round the places she loved most. We passed a couple of the massive London clubs where she would dance all night in her younger days. We zipped through Brick Lane, Covent Garden,Β  places we did not have time to explore fully and decided we should go back in the new year, maybe make a weekend of it.

I texted her the other day, suggested that when the weather gets warmer we should go back to London and go clubbing, dance all saturday night and sleep on the train going home. She could top that, she wrote back, we should go to Italy in the summer and go clubbing outdoors, on the beach. smiley face, heart, kisses.

Me, GBM, house music and a beach. Yes please. Yes very please indeed

28 Comments
  1. ermmm excuse me mister you can speak italian? and are still single? stop speaking english use the italian and you will be fighting them off with your glow sticks

  2. TheOthers1 permalink

    Ooo! You speak Italian? I’m definitely in love. Your infinitely more interesting than you give yourself credit for, BT. πŸ™‚

  3. Tin Woman permalink

    Well, I am Italian, but sadly don’t speak it.

    Fingers crossed for you!

    • I didnt know that! try classes, its a wonderful language

      • Tin Woman permalink

        LOL … I took Italian in high school and then one day, my aunt (who is fluent in 7 languages) looks at me and says, “You know, you’ll never be able to talk to Ma or Pop [my grandparents] with the Italian you’re learning. Any of our relatives for that matter. They speak a rural dialect.”

        I stopped at that point. But, I think about taking it up again.

      • Thats true, i cant understand dialects and there are lots of them.
        yes! Start learning again!

      • Tin Woman permalink

        One day .. πŸ™‚

  4. Oooh, caro! (Okay, I think that’s Italian…. Heard it in The Adams’ Family movie.) Very cool, TRG! πŸ˜‰

  5. Parli italiano?? Che buono!! Parlo anche la bella lingua, la famiglia di Mia madre erano nati in sicilia. E allora, tu andrai in italia con la tua amica?

    • Ah, signora weebs, la parli bravissima!
      si,e vero – so parlare la ligua la piu romantica del mondo. Sono andato in italia una volta solamente, e ritornare con GBM sarebbe perfetto!

  6. I could even top GBM’s text… You don’t believe me? Well, I can prove it: Why don’t you visit the Italian speaking part of ‘my’ Switzerland? Just beautiful – take my word for it! πŸ™‚

  7. Go you! I was learning a little, because I was going to move over there. Sardinia (if that’s how you spell it) but was told that island doesn’t even speak Italian because it’s more close to North Africa so it’s local dialect . One day I shall speak it, for now I’ll settle with my Spanish! Your …. friend sounds, interesting.. πŸ™‚

    • You were going to move to sardinia? That needs an explanation and a post i think…

      • haha it would be a short one… Well I wanted to immigrate, the UK doesn’t feel like home and Italy seemed like the perfect place, the city of love and all that Jazz, but now it’s NZ – in 3 years though!

        See short post!

      • yep, that’s pretty short lol
        but why Italy, had you been there before and liked it?
        btw i did spanish classes for a couple of years ago (which inspired this post: https://thereclininggentleman.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/teacher/ ), but now all i can really remember is how to order a beer, how to swear and how to tell a girl she looks gorgeous!

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

