Skip to content

Separation

21 December, 2012

It was the work’s christmas do last night. I didn’t go, in the six years ive been with the company I haven’t gone once. Usually the next day when those that went are sharing stories of who drank too much, who behaved badly, who was sick, I have a pang of regret that I wasn’t there and tell myself that next time I will find the courage to go, next year I will be part of what I feel I made myself miss out on. But this year as I overheard the stories of drunken falls, lost phones, free wine and unwelcome sitters on laps, I didn’t have that feeling of missing out. When others were grouped round a screen laughing at pictures taken on the dance floor, I didn’t go and join them. Because I don’t care.

Christmas, you may have noticed, is almost here and I have a week off. Apart from the day itself I don’t have any plans (apart from an intention to write as much as possible) and if anything I have avoided making plans. The only exception is that I texted GBM yesterday saying I missed her and was she free during the week (she is) and did she want to do lunch (she does). This evening, I went to my sister’s for dinner as I usually do on a Friday, but left early blaming tiredness. Which is essentially true, but it’s also true that I just didn’t want to be around anyone else, not even family.

Over this last year, I have felt a separation developing between me and Other People. Maybe it’s because my job has been so stressful and unrelenting in the last twelve months that I don’t have the mental strength left to give a shit. Maybe it’s because I have devoted more of myself to writing in all its forms this year, and writing being such a solitary pursuit means that I am living more within my own mental space.

But I think it’s because whatever mental and emotional condition(s) affect me are becoming more pronounced. I have never been a confident person socially, and I have become more withdrawn. The mood swings I have always had have become more extreme. What miniscule confidence I have in myself has diminished. The paranoia and fundamental suspicion and lack of trust in others have increased.

I feel I am approaching a point where I think some form of therapy would be useful – indeed a few weeks back during a very dark phase I decided this had gone on too long and I would phone my doctor, but in a couple of days it passed and I never called. It’s not that I want to be treated or cured or tamed or mellowed or my moods flattened or my confidence heightened, just that I would like to know what causes me to be me. I would like to know if I really am bipolar/borderline/paranoid/depressive/autistic or just a grumpy fucker who has spent too long on his own and has never bothered to grow up.

You have probably not bothered reading my self-indulgent whining this far, and it’s not even particularly well written. But guess what – I don’t give a shit. Because this post is intended to fulfill my blog’s primary objective – namely to order and vocalise my thoughts. This one is for me not you.

From → Blogging, My Head

Comments are closed.

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas