Skip to content

I’m Dreaming of a Scarlett Christmas

24 December, 2012

Yes, the big day is nearly upon us. It hardly seems possible that a year has passed since the last one, but very very soon it will be one of the higlights of my year – watching Gone With The Wind over the Christmas break.

I can’t remember how long ago I started this, maybe seven or eight years ago, but this week is the only time of the year i can justify lying on the sofa eating cheese and crackers and watching a four-hour film. It is overlong and overdramatic but majestic in its scale – the shot where the camera pans upwards on a crane to reveal the hundreds of war casualties in the streets of Georgia is truly epic. Okay, it’s also sexist and racist in places, but this is the fault of the time and culture in which it is set. Most importantly though it is one the all-time great romances, Scarlett and Rhett are wonderful characters perfectly acted (as are Mammy,  Melanie Hamilton, Gerald O’Hara, even ASHHHHLaaaaaaaay) and the scene on the stairs at the very end is giving me goosebumps even now.

 

I found out that Hasty has never seen GWTW, so at my suggestion she will be losing her Scarlett virginity this year, as we arrange a transatlantic sychnronised Wind-a-thon. And guess what, dear followers and readers, YOU yes YOU are invited too. Confirmed dates and times will follow, but I am giving you advance notice now so that you can get hold of a copy. And so that we can all agree afterwards that it is one of the greatest films ever made, I will publish a post on the day that we can all comment on.

For now, to tease and please you, here is the trailer. I hope it excites you more that it did the voiceover man:

 

From → Blogging

9 Comments
  1. TheOthers1 permalink

    I’ve never seen it either, but my schedule makes it impossible as I’m in a hotel. I also find that I’m not a fan of movies that long. Not enough patience. Merry Christmas, BT.

    • shame you won’t be able to join us, but maybe another time. There is an intermission in the middle 🙂
      Merry christmas to you BT, hope you have a good one ❤

  2. OMG I can’t wait!!!!!! I need to post this too!

  3. Merry Christmas, my friend.

  4. I LOVE this film and watch it once a year too. : )

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

