Skip to content

The figure turned and left

29 December, 2012

At exactly 12:01 on 29th December 2012, I typed the words “the figure turned and left”. The instant I typed the fullstop following, I raised my arms in delight, and started to cry. Those words, and the 83,091 preceding, are the first complete novel I have ever written. Combined with the 92,894 words that made up the first draft – abandoned before the end, shortened, and reworked – are the result of two years and three months’ work. It isn’t finished, it needs work, and I have a third draft to start on in a couple of months when I have put some distance between me and it, but I reached the end. I’ve never done that before.

Read the heading on my blog. I write. It’s my destiny, it’s my purpose, it’s my one talent, it’s what I can do, it’s what I have to do, it’s what I DO. I’m a writer. And if you need proof, well I’ve Written A Book.

From → Blogging, Writing

21 Comments
  1. Bravo and congratulations!!!

  2. Wow! If I were your significant other – I would write Bravo and Congratulations all over your body!!! What an accomplishment. May the euphoria last so so long, you have at least a week before thinking that you have to start a new novel – you know how you Lingual Artists are! Jayne

  3. Congratulations! What a great way to end the year, and third draft in 2013 – nice thing to look forward to. All the very best to you! xoM

  4. I could not say it better than boomiebol… nice ending to the year. Nothing but good in the one ahead.

  5. Tin Woman permalink

    Congratulations!!!! what a way to start the new year!

  6. TheOthers1 permalink

    Woot!! Way to go, BT. 🙂

  7. Oh Darling!!!!!!! I’m SO SO SO proud of you!!!! Big X’s and O’s!

  8. Well done indeed & congrats! You can be very proud of you RG 🙂 And I’m sure you’re going to announce your book signing tour through Switzerland 😉 All the best to you for the new year!

    Btw I’ve written a new poem you might like: it’s about friendship 🙂

  9. Morbid Insanity permalink

    That’s awesome! Congratulations! 🙂

  10. Delilah permalink

    Oh how I wish I could say that. Well, maybe someday.

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

