Skip to content

Five Sentence Fiction – Delicate

2 February, 2013

Thanks as always to Lillie for running the wonderful 5SF, and for this week’s prompt. Here is my offering, all comments and criticisms welcome.

 

When we first met, there was an instant chemistry, it was lust and like at first sight and love followed on about the third.

As we got to know each other, we realised that on paper we were nothing like the perfect match – she’s a night owl, I need my minimum eight hours; she drinks coffee, I am strictly tea; she loves going out, I’d rather share a sofa and a dvd; she votes Conservative, I’m lifelong Labour; she’s catholic, I’m an atheist; hell when we met she was hetero and I was leaning towards the homo side of bi – but none of that mattered.

Of itself, the fact she is a cat person and I’m about dogs wasn’t an issue, we kept one of each, but the problems began when her furballs were served up the cordon bleu fish and meats she picked up from the deli, but this man’s best friends had to slum it with good old supermarket brand Dog’s Dinner.

“They have delicate constitutions,” she would insist, “they need the best quality food” but not at those prices, not when we were struggling for money, and it was that lack of understanding, that failure to appreciate, that ignorance of our circumstances that finished us.

I hear through the grapevine that the company finally let her go after all that uncertainty, and I genuinely have sympathy for her, but those damn moggies – well they are going to have to toughen up.

 

 

10 Comments
  1. TheOthers1 permalink

    Lol. Done over pet differences. I really liked this. Reminds me I need to craft my entry for the week also. Well done.

  2. Ha ha! This made me laugh! ~Jen

  3. Hmmm… Interesting…

  4. Congratulations! I nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Don’t blame me, my Pussy made me do it. 😉

    http://cliteraryreview.com/2013/02/04/in-praise-of-pussy/

  5. I work in a supermarket as you know and the number of times I have seen people buying expensive stuff for the pets then basic stuff for themselves amazes I love my pooches but no way would I be eating cheap sausages while they ate steak

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

