Skip to content

And Relax

21 February, 2013

The last couple of days at work have been surprisingly but happily quiet. The other members of my team have been complaining at how bored they are but I don’t give a fuck about them, they can sit there and suffer. I am just enjoying the first couple of really quiet days I have had for about six months. Yesterday the servers were down all afternoon so there were no emails and we couldn’t access any work. Today was day one of a stocktake in our distribution centre so there wasn’t a lot going on around the company. By the end of the afternoon I had pretty much caught up with my work and enjoyed a wonderfully lazy hour playing Bubble Shooter on the computer. Boy, have I missed having spare time like that.

These last two days have also underlined to me how chuffing busy I’ve been, and how stressed. I don’t always notice at the time when life is getting to me, it’s only when it calms down that I realise how tightly wound I have become. But today, I was relaxed. Even my bad back is starting to ease off and I can almost walk without having to concentrate.  Being stupidly busy makes me stressed, stressed makes me tired, tired makes me lose my inspiration, not writing makes me feel empty and depressed, depressed makes me tired… and so on further down the spiral. Today I felt a cloud lifting, and I felt the emotional plug that has been blocking my muse start to dislodge. Very little has emerged from the tap – 100 words of FriFic so far to be precise – but I know there is more to come. The blogging and writing drought I have been suffering for the last couple of weeks may be easing.

It’s not just an lessening of work stress that has improved me, it’s spending a few hours pottering on the allotment last week, it’s making wine, it’s having a bit more money in my pocket, it’s being able to spend a bit of time looking at holidays and flights on the internet, it’s knowing that although I can’t afford to do them all I can at least start ticking off this trips I want to make. And most importantly it’s having the love and support of a particularly wonderful friend who believes in me and makes me a better person when I can’t manage it myself.

 

From → Blogging, My Head, Writing

9 Comments
  1. Lovely to hear that you’e getting your spring back! It’s the simple things, and sounds to me as though you need some more you time…… Now I’m keen to hear about these trips you’re planning? Travelling has been on my mind a lot of late.

  2. Awesome to hear, TRG! (Question: do you think, maybe, that work is better b/c you’re running the show right now… and you’re better at it than your on-leave boss?)

  3. Oh God! Now he has a bad back… of course! Hope you are treating yourself a bit with that money… that might give us a bit of a break. Did you get your clutch fixed?

    Hey! There’s the noted Romance Writer up above! Has anyone read her FicRelay installment?

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

