Skip to content

Fiction Relay – Part 25

11 March, 2013

Well, here we are. A quarter of a century. It’s been quite a ride so far, and I thank all six of my Relaying colleagues for their hard work and inspiration. When Suzi was first hired by Melissa all those months ago, none of us had any idea of the dramatic life she was headed for. Or that she was actually called Meagan. Anyway, with the traditional insecurity that I haven’t met the standard everyone else has set, I humbly offer you part 25. The Homepage is here, a summary of the story so far is here.

 

Part Twenty Five

As they arrived at the distillery, Sam directed Blue towards one of the smaller decrepit shacks a little away from the main building. “Keep her in there,” he said, “out of sight of Meagan.” Blue nodded, and revved the bike engine. She had subdued Melissa’s mind and taken control of her body to bring her back from the cave, and she guided her compliant form and absent expression as her father had instructed. Sam watched as Blue rode behind Melissa, nudging her with her front tyre, and strode quickly away in search of Suzi and Ephraim.

Melissa pushed open the large wooden slatted doors, and held them open for Blue to ride through. Blue’s training told her to quickly assess her surroundings and, realising the shack was long-abandoned, she decided it was safe to cut the engine and park up. She stepped off the bike and removed her helmet, roughing her blue hair back to life as she did so, and directed Melissa to sit on one of a dozen rusting storage crates. Blue, unsure of their contents, preferred to lean against the seat of her bike. She slowly lifted her grip on Melissa’s mind, and an angry, vengeful expression filled her captive’s face.

“Don’t think you’re better than me little girl,” Melissa sneered, “I wouldn’t be here if I didn’t want to be.” Blue laughed her contempt, picked at a fingernail. “Yeah right,” she said, “You can leave any time you want.”

Melissa grinned and moved to stand, but her body contorted as Blue drove a charged pulse through every nerve ending. Melissa had never been tazered, but the tiny part of her consciousness not screaming with pain imagined this was how it felt.

“I’m only a little girl,” Blue said in a mock infantile voice, “but you belong to me.” She eased her grip on Melissa who slumped, relieved on the crate.

Blue spoke again, this time her voice back to its previous casual, almost nonchalant superiority, “I can control you. I can control anyone. I’m the daughter of two talents remember? My powers are amplified. I’m a hundred times what you could ever be.”

“You don’t scare me,” Melissa declared, “No one scares me, not now that Raj is gone.” But her defiant words were betrayed by her subservient, lowered eyes.

Blue laughed, approached the crates. “Oh you think he’s gone do you?” she said, “Well how about I borrow that funny little resurrection power you have and use it on him?”

“You can’t. You wouldn’t.”

“I can do what I like.” She raised a hand slowly and Melissa cowered, anticipating another bolt of pain.

“No,” Ehpraim said levelly. Blue turned to see him walking thorough the doorway, Sam alongside him. She stuffed her hands into her pockets innocently. “Where’s Mom? She’s round here somewhere right?” she asked with a frown.

“Upstairs sleeping,” Sam said calmly, “she needs rest.” He placed a comforting hand on Blue’s shoulder.

“You still call her Mom do you?” Melissa said, searching for any emotional ammunition she could find, “she forgot about YOU, forgot she even had you. How does that feel?”

Blue span away from Sam, angrily driving the pain through Melissa again. She fell from the crates and crumpled foetally to the floor, her mouth wide open in a silent scream of agony.

“Release her,” Ephraim said evenly, but Blue intensified the pain. “She gets what she deserves,” she spat. Sam rushed forward, grabbed Blue’s arm. “Whatever our feelings,” he insisted, “if we hurt her… or worse… we are no better than her. Or Raj.”

Blue gave another angry burst of pain and then relented. Melissa’s constrained position eased as she flexed the movement back into her limbs, deep gasping breaths refilling her lungs.

“Fucking bitch,” Blue sneered, “I should finish her.”

Sam opened his mouth to calm his daughter, but Melissa spoke first. “Garrett’s right,” she panted, “You should be nice to me. I’m the only chance your mother has.” She had learnt Blue’s weakness, and quickly improvised any way she could work this to her advantage, “if you kill me, if you so much as hurt me, she will never have her past back.”

“What do you mean?” Blue hissed.

“She has wiped her memory of so much, I knew from the first day she walked into the diner that she had forgotten me, had forgotten everything.” Melissa stood and Blue let her. “But I remember it all,” she continued, “I remember the past, the accident, I was there. I know how she came to be in the orphanage. I can remind her, I can spare her that emptiness I know she feels, that self-doubt that fills the void where her memories used to be. Without me, your mother will never know about her past, her childhood. She will never know what happened to her parents. She will never have peace.”

“Why would you help Meagan?” Sam asked calmly.

“Call off the girl and I’ll tell you.”

Sam exchanged a glance with Ephraim who nodded slowly, reluctantly.

“Blue…” Sam began.

“For fuck’s sake,” she snapped, “She tried to kill my mother…”

“You heard what she said. She can help her.”

Blue sighed deeply, angrily “The people I work for have given me very precise instructions…”

“You know it’s the right thing to do,” Ephraim said quietly.

“Everyone thinks she’s dead anyway,” Blue insisted. “Well everyone except us. And Sanderson.”

Sam lost patience with his daughter’s failure to listen to reason. “Think of your mother,” he shouted.

Blue glared. “You didn’t when you left,” she spat, and stormed out of the shack.

Blue’s power over Melissa diminished as her distance grew, but she was still weak from Blue’s attacks. Melissa stepped forwards and Ephraim met her in the centre of the shack. In a blur of police training he twisted her arms, forced her head to the floor, pushed his knee onto her neck. “You don’t hold the power you think you do,” he said calmly, “Meagan’s memory is already returning. She doesn’t need you.”

“So why did you let the girl believe that she does?”

“She’ll find out Meagan’s memory is returning as soon as she speaks to her,” Ephraim said, “It’s more… fitting she hear it from her mother don’t you think? Anyway, if we had let Blue finish you then we couldn’t all go on the trip that myself and Daniel have just been discussing.”

“What do you mean?” Melissa spluttered, her mouth and nose beginning to fill with the dirt from the shack’s floor, “what trip?”

Sam bent down to her. He pulled a flash drive from his pocket and held it in front of her eyes. “I bet you thought all the files from the orphanage had been lost,” he said, “but Suzi has them here. And she has the map.” The mention of the map panicked Melissa, and she grunted as she struggled vainly under Ephraim’s strength. Sam stood, spotted a length of electrical cable and handed it to his partner who deftly secured his prisoner’s hands.

Sam knelt in the dirt, his face centimetres from Melissa’s. He smiled. “There are certain… individuals in Florida who would be very interested to see the contents. Where you and Raj are really from. Who you really are.”

 

 

As you all know, CC has sadly decided to withdraw from blogging, so I hand the baton to Delilah

15 Comments
  1. A nice chapter, giving Suzi some needed rest. I like the little spitfire Blue, but if she had brought Raj back to life, I would have had to kill him again, and cut him up into little pieces, etc… I never liked that guy. I liked your line… ‘daughter of two talents’… that said a lot. And Sanderson… can’t wait to meet him, and see where The Club figures into things.

    I was not aware that CC had quit blogging. That is too bad. I thought she had been quiet lately. I will miss her, but expect her back in some form. Will miss her story, as I was sure she would have had Suzi and Sam in bed this time.

    • i was tempted to bring Raj back to life myself but in the end just decided to leave that door open for the future. maybe…

      We can thank KC for Blue and Sanderson. Nicely setup characters. Im not sure how much of Blue’s “daughter of two talents” speech was youthful bravado and how much was genuine ablilty. She seems firey and likely to talk herself up. But its not for me to decide.

      sad to see CC go. I had been all prepared to set up Suzi and Sam for her this round too 😦

  2. REALLY like the interplay between Blue/Melissa/Sam/Ephraim. Nice mind-games they play with each other (literally and figuratively). I like the handle you have on Blue — I think she’s the most vividly portrayed character we have in the story so far (part of that nod goes to KC, as well), and you continued her mannerisms perfectly. I liked: “…removed her helmet, roughing her blue hair back to life as she did so…” and this exchange was my favorite:

    “Sam lost patience with his daughter’s failure to listen to reason. ‘Think of your mother,’ he shouted.

    Blue glared. ‘You didn’t when you left,’ she spat, and stormed out of the shack.”

    Really, really great layering of emotional dynamics, TRG! What great tension! 🙂

    • you’re right – huge nod to KC for Blue. she’s a fascinating and fun character. i think this is the first time we’ve had a group scene so it was fun to see how everyone acts with each other.

  3. Delilah permalink

    Oh NO! Now I have to follow you Gentleman? Alright, well hopefully I can have something soon. Great details, love the depth of the characters now…they feel like friends we all know. I will say, Blue has become my new favorite. Although, I am kinda partial to Ephraim.

    • i like Blue too, she has that powerful ability mixed with her youthful buzz and almost arrogance. Combined with the fact she may not have the same agenda as the others, all gives her a lot of plot potential

  4. I really love this! I am truly amazed how the story evolves and comes together so well with so many personalities writing it! Thanks for letting me be involved. Sad to hear CC isn’t blogging anymore…hope she is ok.

  5. Heyla, all! Finally back from a semi-productive doctor/hospital (mental, yay) visit, and yay for story to come back to! *hugs*

    I -love- what you’ve done here, Boss. Adore it. You are (scarily) good at running with Blue, and keeping her voice and attitude. *g* She’s obviously feeling a little off-balance right now, what with dealing with a “new” father, and the mixed feelings about her mom, but you showed all that clearly and kept all the other balls (characters) in the air at the same time…bravo! An awesome quarter-century mark story. Now to see where Delilah takes it, and then Ted…and by that time I -might- be ready to dig in again myself…*eg*

    • KC!! Hi!!!! glad to have you back *puts the kettle on* *plumps the sofa cushions*
      Thanks for your very kind comments but i’m, ya know, standing on the shoulders of literary giants. Setting up the characters and giving them life has been a joint effort and they all have enough definition that i can watch them and write down what happens.And thank YOU of course for Blue, she’s a lot of fun 🙂

  6. Okay, Part 28 finally posted. Sorry it took me so long!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Fiction Relay — Part 28 | The Mouse's Soapbox

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

