Skip to content

Metaphorical Tea

11 April, 2013

Tonight after I had eaten dinner and washed the dishes, I put the kettle on, opened the tea cupboard and browsed. I have probably two dozen different kinds of tea in there, and rather than just scan the few boxes at the front, I had a good dig through to the ones at the back that don’t get an outing as often. And I spotted the box of Rooibos Earl Grey.

I first tasted it when I was given a cup by a woman I was seeing a while back, and when I told her how much I liked it she bought me a box. It was a very nice tea. I didn’t go so far as to say it was the best tea ever, but I like Rooibos and I like Earl Grey so to combine the two made for a splendid cuppa, and for a while it was all I would drink. Then we stopped seeing each other, I had a bit of a rough time, and I couldn’t even look at that box of tea without being upset and thinking of her and what could have been, should have been. Now and again I had a cup but basically I kept out of its way.

Until today, when I rediscovered it, stuffed at the back of the cupboard, forgotten. I hadn’t deliberately shunned it and hidden it from myself in a cathartic act of closure, I had just thought about it less and less until it just wasn’t really relevant any more, wasn’t part of my usual routine. In the same way, I haven’t thought about her for a long time, not since December when she texted me. That was an experience I struggled with, but today the tea came randomly into my view and I thought of her and it didn’t hurt. Genuinely didn’t hurt, not like previous times when I have had to tell myself, reassure myself that it didn’t hurt.

The kettle boiled and clicked off. I had a pot of Sencha Goji Berries.

 

 

10 Comments
  1. I like the new categories – looks very organised!

    The art of time, it’s a good healer. I like tea, but not as much as you, but you make it sounds like chocolate brownies mmmm. I do love lemon and green tea actually!

    • Fanx L, it took me ages to get it how i wanted it.
      You’ve got me craving choc brownies now, I might have to make a batch at the weekend. And I’ll post a pic so you can drool haha xx
      PS Lemon and green is one of my afternoon faves at work

  2. So my comment to you ended up on someone else’s post. I think my reader is being styrofoam so I hope you get it this time. I said that cup of tea was a healing cup.

  3. I want to sit and have brownies and milk with you. I loved this one…I relate to it…probably everyone does. It is a good feeling to be in this moment…simple closure…and strength.

  4. Save me 3….I really LOVE brownies 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Plus ca change… | The Reclining Gentleman

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

