Skip to content

Don’t Look Down

29 April, 2013

I’m in a good mood, I am on an up. The down will surely follow but I’m trying to ignore it and stay positive for as long as possible.

I’ve had a good couple of days. On Sunday I made myself get up and go to the allotment. I have loads of planting to do, and I got the bulk of what I wanted done. I could so easily have just not bothered, especially as I had gone on Saturday, but I found some motivation from somewhere. And in four hours I planted eight different veg. In other news, I had a flat tyre on my bike this week. Worse than that in fact, the inner tube had burst and torn the tyre in the process. So both needed replacing, a job I have never done before and I was dreading. I read up on it on the net yesterday and, ignoring my usual DIY ineptitude (and buoyed by my recent success with the border), I decided it couldn’t be that hard. It took me about half an hour and a lot of swearing but I did it. Go me!

Today, work was crazy busy. The sort of busy that makes me want to eat. But I decided that if I gave in to the Crisp Demon then my post about food was for nothing, it really would just be whinging. So I resisted. My tummy was rumbling by 4pm but I told myself I was going home soon, ride it out. And I did.

For dinner I made one of my favourite meals – aubergine fritters with chick pea couscous. With a little dollop of ginger/garlic/chilli sauce from the Asian supermarket. Quick, easy and extremely tasty. I should have taken a pic but I was too busy eating it and enjoying it. And then, I went to play badminton. I haven’t cycled anywhere for a couple of months but I decided I would just go for it, otherwise I would never get back on the bike. 5 miles to the sports centre took a lot of effort, but I was tired in that good way you only get after exercise. I am shit at badminton but I played some of the best I have ever played this evening, and bizarrely I knew this was because I had cycled in. Does exercise release endorphins or something? Or did I just make that up? Either way, the more I ran around, the more energy I had. I still lost every game of course, but it didn’t get me down. Even when I was losing 11-0 in the last game and then got a couple of points, I was thinking maybe I could win this one. I didn’t of course, but that’s irrelevant. And then I cycled 5 miles home. A bit puffed out but feeling energised and pleased with myself. Oh, and when I got home I had a text from a friend I hadn’t seen for a while and I assumed had moved on with her life. But she hasn’t.

I am intending to cycle to work in the morning, and I hope that even if my legs ache (which I’m sure they will) I will still have the motivation to get in the saddle and ride the pain away.

So yeah, I am good. I am enjoying the feeling while it lasts. I am trying to stay up and not look down.

 

From → Blogging, My Head

10 Comments
  1. Woot! Maybe this will motivate me to jump back into exercising. Either way, go you! 😀

  2. Glad to hear your motivated!

  3. Morbid Insanity permalink

    That’s awesome! I’m glad for you. 🙂

  4. Exercise releases endorphins, which are your feel gurd chemicals. Fantastic for your health!!
    Lovely to hear you’re on an up, keep your chin up high!! 🙂
    P.s oh my your dinner sounds yummmy!!!
    xxx

    • i knew i’d read that somewhere! had a bit of a curry tonight but will be back on a health(ish) kick (and maybe the bike) tomorrow.
      And yeah, it was amazing! I’m not a food blog but next time i make it i will post pics and a recipe
      xxx

  5. BEST POST EVER! oh and send me that recipe it sounds AMAZING

    • Thank you Hasty 🙂 I will be making the fritters again at the weekend and i will take pics and write out the recipe. Then you and L can both try them for yourselves!

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

