Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Piedi di Pagliaccio

14 June, 2013

As always,  my thanks to Rochelle for curating and for supplying this week’s wonderful prompt:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For some reason I struggled for inspiration this week, but by lunchtime today an idea was forming. Here are my 100 words, which could probably do with another polish (hence I am not linking this week) but it’s already Friday evening (here) so I shall publish and be, if not damned, then generally ignored.

 

Edgar flexed his aching fingers once more and placed them on the keys. A quick breath and he tried again. Even at half-speed he struggled, and after barely three lines he stopped, resigned.

Several of Paganini’s violin works could only be played by the composer himself, and this newly-discovered piano piece was similarly insurmountable. Edgar preferred to accredit the maestro’s unique talents to the supposed extra flexibility of his left hand rather than the rumoured demonic assistance.

He read the unplayable work’s title again. Piedi di Pagliaccio. Clown’s Feet. It was a jocular work but still, such an unusual title.

 

13 Comments
  1. So what’s wrong with this piece, Maestro? I like it. We love what you write… it’s your comments we ‘generally ignore’… well except maybe the cadre of females you seem to have bamboozled.

    • this piece is not so much “wrong” as under-edited, I wrote (and re-wrote) today, and any work will always benefit from a next-day review.
      BTW you can say what you like about me, I’m a cynical grump who gives not a shit, but if you have a dig at my beloved followers then you do so at your own risk…

  2. I like it. I know the feeling too, having played piano.

  3. OI! (sorry, I always wanted to say that, not sure if I spelled it right but still, oi!)
    We females are not bamboozled! We just have good taste 😉

  4. Dear TRG,

    I agree with Ted. Not a thing wrong with this piece and a lot right. In any case, if you don’t link with the bus, the bus driver will come to you.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks Driver! As i said to Ted, it’s not so much wrong as not edited. All the elements i wanted to include are there but it took a bit of juggling and it could be written better. i will try harder for next week 🙂

  5. I love this, actually I just started my own piano lesson and I know how it can feel sometimes.

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

