Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Almost

28 June, 2013

How does Rochelle find the time to coordinate FriFic, read everyone’s stories, comment, and talk to those who comment on her blog too? I’ve no idea, but I’m grateful that she does. Here is this week’s prompt:

fleeting-copyright-indira-mukherjee

And here are the 100 words my head said in reply:

 

Back in 64, research and rumour directed my quest to a small village outside Calcutta. I hunted the area for weeks but the creature was elusive. Until one morning, crossing a road, I spotted it.

I grabbed my camera for the historic picture but, focussed on my quarry, I hadn’t seen the speeding, oncoming bus and as I clicked, I was bundled to the safety of the roadside. When I looked up the field was empty. I never saw it again.

This single blurred picture proves nothing but my memory and my tale stand witness. The mythical Zebigeraffant DOES exist.

 

 

12 Comments
  1. Lol. I believe! Made me smile. 🙂

  2. Dear TRG,

    Funny! Good to know the Zebigeraffant is a benevolent creature. You made me smile.

    Thank you for your encouraging words in your intro as well. One usually can find time for a passion. FF is mine.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Haha! Photo opportunities ALWAYS seem to elude us at the last second. El Appleby would be proud her Zebigeraffant is running wild somewhere in Calcutta! Probably headed to a 7-11 store (should they have them there, I know they are in Norway) for a spicy burrito.

    BTW, I know how Rochelle does it since we live close by — IT’S MAGIC!

  4. The strange creature still lives on.

  5. It’s the you-should-have-seen-the-one-that-got-away story come to land. 🙂

    janet

  6. Loved this very clever merging of two great FF prompts, well done.
    Dee

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

