Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Band

5 July, 2013

Rochelle has pulled another intriguing prompt from the bag this week. Here it is:
rescuers

And here are my 100 words. Feel free to comment if you wish, I dont bite 🙂

 

I remember that day, I was there! They were playing the park bandstand, not like the stadiums they fill now. There were thousands of people there, climbing onto the roof to catch even a glimpse. We knew that gig was the start of something big, the birth of legends.

Ignore your Grandad. I was there too, there were sixty people, barely listening to the band. Climbing onto the roof had seemed like fun, that’s all. But now they’re superstars the hype has grown around that gig. He doesn’t tell the story from his own memory, he quotes from the legend.

 

 

2 Comments
  1. Is there such a thing as a Friday smile? Because I was in great need of a smile inducer and couldn’t seem to find one anywhere in my immediate surroundings, then I saw this 😀
    The picture made me smile in itself but when I read the words? Smile-a-thon! Of course my mind naturally went to the Great Beatles Gig In The Sky aka Roof-Gig (I don’t know if anyone ever called it Roof-Gig, I think I kinda just made that up)but at the same time I remembered every band I ever saw and the excitement of seeing live music, both through the eyes of innocence and then looking back and seeing through these (slightly) older eyes 😉
    So speak-eth my brain. 🙂

    • Im afraid i can only allow smiles on one day a week, sorry. so if you smile today, saturday’s has to be handed in.
      The actual gig i had in mind (not an outdoor gig, but it was inspired by wondering what they were looking for) was the Sex Pistols at the 100 Club in 1976(?). It is held up as this legendary gig, but so many musicians and journos claim to have been there that the club would need to be about 10 times the size. Are they just exaggerating? Are they misremembering another gig as THAT gig? Has the legend changed their memory of a gig they were at, but making it more legendary than it was? Have the overwritten their memory with the general opinion? Who knows.
      Im glad my few words raised a smile and lots of memories.
      Ive never heard it called Roof-Gig before, so i guess youve made that one up! Its a great name by the way 🙂

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

