Skip to content

WIP and post-WIP update

8 July, 2013

I have passed the two-thirds point of this second full draft of my WIP. I have introduced everyone, I have explained who they are and who they relate to each other, I have brought them together and allowed them to interact and to watch each other interact. Now I am reviewing the difficult final phase, where past differences rear up again, frictions begin to.. erm… frict, secrets are revealed, and the consequences play themselves out.

When I wrote the final third last time (ie the first time), it was an almost continual outpouring as I wrote every spare minute, the plot racing as I struggled to keep up. I knew I was throwing down a rough sketch to tidy later, I just wanted to get it out of my head and onto paper, I wanted to cross that finish line and get my breath back. As I was working at lunchtime today though, I was pleased with how well it is all hanging together. And the notes I had made to myself of elements to emphasise and maybe explain more fully are mostly already addressed. A few tweaks and continuity errors, maybe a thought here and there that this conversation should take place before this other conversation, but essentially the way it was first written is pretty much how it is staying. Would a publisher or editor agree? Maybe not. But I am quite proud of it and how little fixage it needs.

For reasons of spoiler I cant say too much about a particular plot idea I had today, but I can tell you by adding the words “on her birthday” to one dialogue/argument has given a whole plot point a date and an event to fix around, rather than just being something that happened “in the past”. Particularly because I have a prologue which takes place on a birthday, but now, without changing a word, it takes place on THAT birthday and gives it infinitely more weight and purpose. All this won’t mean much to you but it had me punching the air and saying “Yesssssssss.” My enthusiasm for this work is building to a high again after being a bit subdued lately.

 

In other news, I wrote recently about where my literary attentions might go after I have finished redrafting this WIP and am allowing it to lay ignored for a while till I read it back to myself from a distance and decide whether it is good enough to Send Off. Well, this past week I have been considering a serial I was going to start posting on here that would keep me amused. But with a bit more thinking and a bit more planning, I think this could be my WIP in waiting, the next project, or should I say Project. For that reason I won’t now be posting it here. Sorry. I do have a half-formed central character of Carrington Sloane though. You heard it here first.

 

 

From → Blogging, My Head, Writing

One Comment
  1. Things are coming together well then! I tend to write in a similar way on my first drafts. Put everything down and hope it strings along well enough. Ps: I really enjoyed Summer Heat. Thought the storyline was awesome. I like a bit of voyeurism though so I’m easy in that respect.

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

