Skip to content

Choon Choosday: The Mamas & The Papas – Dream A Little Dream

27 August, 2013

I’ve said once or twice before that I only properly recognise two genres of music – good and bad. That may be a slight exaggeration, but the principle holds true – the most important thing for me is not the genre or the artist or whether it’s cool or fashionable or appropriate, it’s whether the tune is good or not. Similarly, I don’t really have any “guilty pleasure” tunes as I feel no guilt at all for any music I like. On that theme, and to demonstrate how open and receptive I am, I am starting a short season of “Choons by bands I can’t stand”, starting this week with The Mamas and The Papas.

I hate virtually every song of theirs, I hate their name, and California Dreamin’ is my least favourite song of all time – even that apostrophe makes me hyperventilate. But amongst the ghastly abominations like California Dreamin’, Monday Monday and Dedicated to the One I Love, is this fabulous little nugget.

Maybe it’s because it isn’t a cheesy million-part harmony, maybe it’s because it’s a cover and not an original, maybe it’s Mama Cass on her own and her voice suites this perfectly. For whatever reason, even though I hate the band I love the

Chooooooonn!

 

 

From → Choon Choosday, Music

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

