Skip to content

The healing power of the allotment

7 October, 2013

Wow, what a bad day that was. I hate my job anyway as you know, but today was a total car crash. Stupidly busy, made even more so by the fact my boss phoned in sick. Thanks for that. I won’t bore you with the ins and outs, I got all that out of my system in the deleted first draft of this post which, although cathartic for me, was a bit shouty and not very entertaining for the reader.

The afternoon was better thanks to a well-timed text from my best friend which helped me through it, but what made me forget the day all together was calling in at the allotment after work. I had planned to do this anyway, but I didn’t really realise until I got there how much I needed an hour in the fresh air pottering about, doing a few jobs. Well I say fresh air, one of the jobs was to burn the blackberry bush I cut down last week so the air was a bit smokey but you know what I mean. Anyway, I was only there an hour but it was a productive, peaceful hour during which I didn’t think about work once. I had “Gonna Make You a Star” by David Essex going through my head for most of it which was annoying, but overall, an hour pruning blackcurrants and planning the reconstruction of my strawberry beds was just what I needed.

From → Blogging, My Head

3 Comments
  1. I love this.

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

