Skip to content

Choon Choosday: Duke Ellington – Jeep’s Blues

14 January, 2014

I went to see American Hustle the other day. It was shit. I don’t understand how it managed to bag itself 10 BAFTA nominations, the same number as the infinitely superior 12 Years A Slave. Granted AH was well acted – even Christian Bale, one of my least favourite actors of all time, put in a performance that didn’t have me wanting to stuff salty popcorn in my eyes to erase the horror of his one-dimensional blandulity – but it was dreadfully directed. In fact even using the word “directed” implies there was some sort of direction that the film was headed in, some sort of propulsive force. There wasn’t, it merely ambled from one undercooked and lacklustre plot point to another until the credits rolled. How it won the Golden Globe for Best Comedy beats me – it was neither Best nor a Comedy – although fair enough Jennifer Lawrence was good value for her Supporting Actress prize. And Amy Adams deserved some sort of award for wearing the plunge-neck dresses her character was given and still keep her breasts covered for the whole film.

One thing it had in its favour though, the soundtrack was exemplary. I mean really top drawer. And at several points, this Ellington track was played. I had never heard it before – I like a bit of accessible jazz though I’m no expert or completist – and I knew from the first listen this was something special. Experience it here for yourself. DON’T waste your time going to see American Hustle, but DO invest five minutes in the presence of greatness.

Choooooonn!!

 

From → Choon Choosday, Music

3 Comments
  1. believe it or not, I love love love this kind of music ❤
    it brings me back to the days when I was too young to talk but old enough to know good music when I heard it 😀 my folks used to play stuff like this all the time
    (and oh man do I ever have a lot to catch up on here, starting backwards of course :D)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Even Bandleaders Get The Blues « Mark My Words…

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

