Skip to content

Well if you must know…

29 January, 2014

I played badminton on Monday night and managed to tweak a muscle in my forearm. Almost every shot I played for two hours shot a pain through my arm, and it wasn’t fun. Today  I have a bruise along my arm where the muscle is, so I guess I have done something bad. Well bad-ish anyway, these things go away on their own usually.

When I woke up yesterday it was pretty painful so I put one of those sports bandages on my arm to give it some support and hopefully keep it warm and help the healing. I wear a short-sleeved polo shirt in the office so everyone could see I was wearing it. About twenty past eight was the first time I was asked what I had done and I told my colleague all about it. Shortly after I was asked again and said it all again. The time after that I just said “I was playing badminton” and left it at that. The question kept coming throughout the day. Maybe some people were asking out of concern, and those I didn’t mind telling so much, but mainly they were just being nosey. Why do people feel they can just interfere? It wasn’t long till I got bored of explaining so I started making stuff up. Like:

I was feeding the lions and didn’t let go of the meat quick enough

I’m trying to fake my way into the Paralympics in Rio 2016

I had to lift a burning car to save an orphan kitten

It turns out my magic saw trick needs a bit of work

I was dancing to YMCA and gave it too much

Someone said about sending arms to Syria – luckily I only got halfway through removing mine to send before I twigged what they meant

 

and the one I was thinking all the time but never actually said:

I overstretched trying to MIND MY OWN FUCKING BUSINESS!

 

It was still fairly painful today but I couldn’t face another day of wearing a bandage and having to face another day of telling people, interspersed with this I had already told saying “still wearing it then?” so I’ve taken it off. That might slow my physical recovery but mentally I feel much better

From → Blogging, My Head

5 Comments
  1. I think you injured your arm while wearing white gloves and brandishing a glow stick….. 😀

  2. Those were AWESOME comebacks ( and in true writer form 😉 ). My personal fave for injuries is: “You should see the other guy.”

  3. ahahaha those really are great comebacks. I broke my elbow last year falling over. Just… falling over. The silver lining to having a brace on my arm for 3 months was making up absurd answers every-time someone asked me what happened. The best part being, afterward lying magnificently, I’d just say, ” But actually, I fell over,” and they’d go, “No, what really happened?” *facepalm.*

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

