Skip to content

It’s all gone a bit íslenskur

5 February, 2014

It’s exactly seven months today that I will be boarding at Luton Airport (I refuse to call it London Luton, it’s not even inside the M25) and heading off to Reykjavík. Yes, I am excited already, and yes I am probably getting too excited too early, but fuck it – I’ve been wanting to go to Iceland for more than twenty years, and I’m gonna damn well enjoy the run-up and the hype as much as I enjoy the week I spend there.

So this past week I have gone into holiday-planning overdrive, reading guide books, researching bus schedules across the country, trying to work out if I have enough time and/or money to explore beyond the capital and the Golden Circle. Sadly I haven’t been as conscientious when it comes to learning the language, but that will come. Or at least as much as I need for a week away. I have also discovered that the weekend I visit coincides with international football. It’s too early for the games to be announced, but I am desperately hoping Iceland will be at home and I will get to the game.

I’m enjoying following Hannah’s “An American In Iceland” blog too, learning about the country and seeing the parts of Reykjavík that I wouldn’t find in the guidebooks. Even if you aren’t as obsessed with and excited about all things Icelandic as I am, pop over to her blog and admire the photography.

Oh, and yesterday there was this programme on radio 4:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03srqzk

in which sound recordist Chris Watson brings us many of the sounds and much of the geological history of Iceland. Well worth a listen. But I would say that wouldn’t I?

 

From → Blogging, Iceland

8 Comments
  1. How fantastic! I can’t wait to read the blog of “A Brit in Iceland”. Don’t fret about being overexcited… you should be, for getting the chance to fulfill a dream.

  2. Could you get Rosetta Stone to learn the language? I’m trying to pick up Spanish for work and it’s been very helpful the little I’ve learned so far.

    Also, I think you have every right to be hyped about something you’ve waited years to do!

    • Rosetta stone is sooooooo expensive though 😦 I’ll stick with memorizing the stuff in the phrase book. I am good at grammar though so once I learn a bit I can look up different words to create my own phrases.
      I don’t need to be fluent just get by

  3. So you will also need to get a new camera to take a million photos to share with us and you can share all the photos you take learning to work the new camera as part of the build up 😀

  4. you’re my idol

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

