Skip to content

Iceland Update

24 February, 2014

The last few days have seen exciting progress in my personal Icelandic saga. On Saturday, I finally sat down at the computer and compared the various accomodation options. I’ve been briefly looking at a few sites for the last month or so, but I decided it was time to get something booked. Yes, I know there are more than six months to go, but I wanted to tick off another item on my To Do list. I compared, contrasted, I booked. I’m hostelling as I am still pretty poor, and also I decided the less I spend on sleeping, the more I can spend on fun stuff like the Golden Circle, the Blue Lagoon, whale watching and the like. So that’s now sorted.

At the weekend, the draw was made for the Euro 2016 qualifying groups – that’s a football thing by the way – and today I thought I would check when and where Iceland will be playing. Their first fixture is at home to Turkey in September, during the week I visit. Fantastic news! I had been hoping I would get the chance to see them play, and now it seems I will be there cheering the lads in blue. I have to arrange a ticket first, of course, but I imagine that won’t be too tricky. An online search should  be enough to find one, and failing that I can always ring the hostel and see if they can help. I’ve watched football as a neutral before and I’ve watched football in a different country, but this will be the first time I do both at once.

Interestingly, I only realised after confirming the Iceland fixtures and allowing myself a brief fist-pump of delight, that I haven’t a clue who else is in England’s group. And to be honest I’m not that bothered. If it wasn’t for the possible inclusion of Lallana, Rodriguez and Lambert in the side I think my allegiances might switch Northwards completely.

4 Comments
  1. I don’t understand the entire last paragraph of this post, but I’m so impressed at your fearlessness in going to a country where you don’t speak the language! (Or maybe you do. I know you speak a number of them. Can’t remember if Icelandic is one…?) At any rate, I love how happy you sound. Your post made me smile for you 🙂

    • Hi Dawn! The last para is about football – England are in the qualifiers for the same tournament but I’m more interested in Iceland! I don’t speak Icelandic yet but I’m trying to learn at least some basics. Icelanders speak good English but I think it’s only polite to make an effort.
      glad you like this post, as September grows nearer there will be many more on this subject I’m sure 🙂

  2. Uh, I’m going to Cape May in a few weeks 🙂 (that’s all I got) xox

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

