Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Climb

7 March, 2014

Happy friday everyone! And Happy Frific! Thanks as always to Rochelle, the Life President of the FF world. This week she has given us an almost barren landscape of a pic:

lengai_summit_from_crater-danny-bowman

but luckily the world of FriFic inspiration is not quite so dry and empty. Behold, 100 words:

 

It’s said that you see your whole life again at the end, but that’s not true. When one missed foothold became a stumble, a slip, an irreversible sliding descent, I didn’t see My Life So Far. Rather I felt every regret, every happiness, every sadness, every fear return. Emotions clashing with one another, assaulting me in packs.

And then regret for the future I had lost; sadness and fear for my wife and son.

But

If I was feeling what was to come, maybe this wouldn’t be the end?

I kicked with renewed desperation, swung my axe with greater force.

 

****

 

In other news, a new Fiction Relay is coming soon! If you want to be part of this fun writing challenge, click here to read all about it and sign up!

 

24 Comments
  1. Hope even in the most hopeless situation – I loved it. I was in a car accident while heavily pregnant and went everything that you mention in your story (fortunately the outcome was good all round).
    Well told 🙂

    • It’s interesting that my fiction rang so true to your terrible real-life experience. This was completely ficitonal but I tried to imagine what it would be like in that situation – it seems I got quite close. Glad you liked my story, and even MORE glad that your accident had a happy ending!!

  2. A nice ending to an uplifting story.

  3. That “but” in the middle of the story was a perfect mood change – hope in the face of despair. Great job!

  4. yipeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I need disciple and deadlines :D) xox ❤

  5. Dear RG,

    This had a very real feel to it, from hopelessness to determination to hope. Good one

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. I hope he makes it!

  7. Good use of your words to convey a range of emotions. As Rochelle said, it felt very real and I’m glad the thought of his family made him fight to live.

    janet

  8. I very much like the turnaround in this, the ‘but’ and realisation that follows. I hope he makes it.

    • Originally the “but” was part of the following sentence (and in a way it still its) but when i realised how much of a turning point it was for the whole story i thought it deserved that space around it to give it the strength it needed.

  9. I think you capture the human spirit perfectly.. even i desperate situations we make that extra effort.

    • Thanks Bjorn. I think youre right, we hear stories now and again of people finding undiscovered strength or bravery at times of stress and danger

  10. Good story with a cliffhanger ending that offers hope. Well done. I too hope he makes it.

  11. camgal permalink

    Quite uplifting 🙂

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

