Skip to content

Six Word Stories – March 2014

7 March, 2014

I do love a prompt, it (usually) gets my creativity running. Although sometimes I need to give my creativity a kickstart. More precisely, I like prompts that restrict the form of the resulting work as I enjoy the challenge, the need to conform to the structure but still tell the intended story. FriFic has to be 100 words (and I am always precise on the word count). 5 Sentence Fiction can only be – you’ve guessed it – five sentences.

And for the first time I am trying the microest microfiction there is – Adam‘s Six Word Stories. Adam supplies the themes, we write six (very) short stories. I misread the rules though and wrote one for each theme word rather than choosing one and writing several on that theme, but hopefully Adam, and indeed you Gentle Reader, will forgive me. Right then, enough jabber, here are my six Six Word Stories:

 

LOVE:  She entered wearing white. Perfect Beauty.

EVIL:  He knows her chute will fail…

DINNER:  Roast THREE hours not TWO? Disaster!

ANIMALS:  Don’t make friends, he’s Christmas dinner.

CIRCUS:  “Wall Of Death!” Tragically appropriate name.

GRUNGE:  News of Kurt. They cry together.

 

And if you shuffle the words then “Evil Circus Animals Love Grunge Dinner” can be a six-word headline to the six-word newspaper story – Bullets didn’t kill Cobain, tigers did.

 

 

17 Comments
  1. Delilah permalink

    Aww, you thought of Kurt! Love these.

  2. My favorites were love and circus. And I thought your “Evil Circus Animals Love Grunge Dinner” was pretty clever! 😀

  3. I loved the addition at the end. Thanks for joining in on the fun!

  4. “Gentle Readers”… Really? You are hopeless. These weren’t bad… I liked ‘Grunge’ and ‘Circus’.

  5. All of these were awesome but I admit to chuckling out loud on the dinner one. You did a great job!

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

