Skip to content

Five Days Off

21 April, 2014

The long weekend is nearly over, tomorrow the country goes back to work and so do I. With careful planning I managed to book last Thursday off aswell so I’ve had nearly a week off work but only used one day’s holiday.

I had vague plans to get some writing done over the weekend. Last Wednesday lunchtime I reached the end of the latest read-through of my WIP, during which I made a plot summary and starting thinking about what needs to come out and what parts of the plot need to be more central and maybe expanded. The new draft was due to start on Thursday, but that didn’t actually happen. Rather than charging on, I haven’t touched my notes. Instead I spent the 5-day break doing various jobs that I have been neglecting. Such as digging and weeding and sowing and carpentry and repotting on the allotment. And bottling a couple of gallons and starting to brew another couple of gallons of wine. And reading books and newspapers and blogs. And listening to the radio and podcasts. And watching DVDs and going to the cinema. I never seem to have time to do any of these (apart from a bit of allotmenting), but it’s very satisfying to have cleared a few jobs from the To Do list. I feel a little bit guilty about not writing, but I think this weekend off has done me good.

And whilst I didn’t actually write anything (apart from FriFic), while I was at the cinema watching Transcendence – a decent enough film that doesn’t require much thinking – my mind was considering options for my WIP and also for the next novel to follow after it. So now I’m ready.

After a break from work and from writing, and finally free of the cold that I have been sniffing through for two weeks, I feel refreshed and eager to get writing again. Tomorrow I will be one day closer to doing this writing thing for a living

From → Blogging, My Head, Writing

4 Comments
  1. Good for you, it’s important to have a week like that. I am proud of you… you are like the English son I have never had, and if I am hard on you sometimes… so be it. But I believe in giving credit where credit is due. Your last FriFic piece was quite good and I would encourage everyone to read it.

    What is the genre of your WIP? If you ever said, I missed it or forgot.

    BTW… I have a hot new British Blogger for you. She reviews books. I wonder if you ever checked out Sophie? (the writer I told you about in Northumbersomething)

    • The body and mind have a way of getting what they need. A week off was what I needed. Im not sure what genre my wip is, it’s not really in a defined pigeonhole. So I’d say contemporary fiction with a touch of mystery.
      I don’t know Sophie. Northumbersomething is a long way away from me!

  2. At least it was on your mind and you were thinking of ways to improve even if you weren’t writing. I think about how I should be doing it, but that’s as far as it goes. Guilt and regret with no action.

    • I havent been doing enough of this lately, but once my head is back in the mood to write properly then it thinks about whatever im working on all the time. Hopefully i will be immersed in it enough now to get another drasft done

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

