Skip to content

Happy Birthday Mum

19 May, 2014

 

Happy birthday Mum. This is the 25th birthday you haven’t had. Nearly half as many birthdays as you celebrated have passed without you here to share them.

I don’t remember the last one. Because unlike your last weeks, days, hours, minutes, seconds, none of us knew there would be no more. Except you. I think you knew. But kept it to yourself, saved us pain for as long as you could, the same way that the suffering you had in your life was private, internalised, until you couldn’t hide it from us any longer.

You are in my thoughts every day, I wonder what you would be doing now, would your life be happier now, would you have found peace? I hope you would be prouder of the good things I have done than I am. And less disappointed than me in the mistakes I’ve made. When birthdays and Christmases and Mothers Days and anniversaries come round every year, those thoughts increase.

And I hope this birthday would be a happy one.

From → Blogging, My Head

Comments are closed.

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas