Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Overnight

6 June, 2014

I could hear the sound of marching feet, the blowing of whistles, the thumping of drums. And beneath it, voices chanting in passionate unison. I opened my window and the sounds filled my room, the drums louder, the voices clearer.

“Whaddawewant?” shouted a megaphoned leader.

“Frific!” the crowd replied.

“Whendawewannit?” megaphone asked.

“Every Friday, in response to a prompt picture that Rochelle emails on Wednesday!” was the impassioned cry.

 

I’m always one to pander to the public voice, so having studied this week’s prompt:

hokusai4rwf

I’ve written a hundred words. This am them:

 

I had expected sacrifices, but hadnโ€™t imagined burning candles and wearing sheepskin slippers to save on light and heat. Three self-employed years of late-nights and all-nights had been difficult, and had left me wondering if the art world had needed another agent after all.

And then my name reached the inbox of an exclusive New York gallery just an hour before a Japanese artistโ€™s pitch email reached mine. The figures discussed that night rang like telephone numbers.

I leant back on my chair, rested my feet on the desk and allowed myself the silent, very wide, smile of overnight success.

 

 

 

17 Comments
  1. Dear TRG,

    This parallels the dreams of most writers quite nicely. Very well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. Dear RG,

    At first I thought your intro was your story. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Interesting story. Atmospheric piece.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Great piece. The narrator deserves a glass of the finest and a good smoke.

  4. Like a couple of others, I was entertained by your intro and wasn’t expecting a second story! This was a fun take on the prompt using pretty much all of the picture – nicely done! Glad your narrator gets to make some money after so much time on the poverty line ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I also thought there were two stories and they were good. The second, my favorite. Finally, instant ? success. That’s how it goes usually. Just like finding a surprise when least expecting it. Good story! Thanks, Nan ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Nan! It was only one story really, I was just playing around in the intro, trying to make it a bit different ๐Ÿ™‚
      Instant success is never instant, it always involves hard work behind the scenes. The gallery and the artist in this story wouldn’t know about the three years work that led to this “overnight” success…

  6. RG, I enjoyed your story. Good for him. I can’t remember having “over-night” success but it would be great. I think, however, the kind you really work for means a lot as his did. Well written. I enjoyed the intro also. ๐Ÿ™‚ —Susan

  7. rang like telephone numbers – a great way to describe what’s happening – especially when you only have 100 words. Well done.

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twistโ€“ Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

