Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Neighbour

13 June, 2014

I was woken by a balaclavaed figure crashing into my bedroom. He shone his torch into my petrified eyes and grabbed Mr Cuddles from beside me. “Write 100 words based on Rochelle’s prompt pic…”

teds-view

he snarled, menacing fingers tightening around Mr Cuddles’ neck, “or the bear gets it.” Terrified for my nocturnal friend’s life, I obliged:

 

 

It’s taken them all day to move in – three loads including the trailer. I’ve watched them carry furniture, computers, televisions up those wooden steps. I’m sure they’ll appreciate a visit from a new friend with cupcakes and a bunch of flowers.

I always drop in on the new arrivals; welcome them to the shoreline community, let them know the ferry times, recommend good camping spots in the woods. They love me, I’m a good neighbour.

And while we’re chatting, I glance at their locks, make sure one of my tools will let me in when the house is empty.

 

18 Comments
  1. What a neighbor!

  2. EditMoi permalink

    Creepy!

  3. Hey… this is a good one.

    Go read my latest post. My 13 year old granddaughter wrote it. You will be surprised.

  4. Good and scary story. O_o It sounds like it might be a woman being there are gifts of cupcakes and flowers . That would be unexpected, especially if it was an older woman. Who would suspect someone like that? He/she sounds like a real professional. Well written with good description. I loved the intro starring Mr. Cuddles. 🙂 —Susan

  5. Geez, welcome to the neighborhood.

  6. Nice take on the instruments – something besides dental torture. Good job.

  7. Dear RG,

    A regular welcome wagon, he is. NOT.

    good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. That’s why I never trust overly friendly neighbours, especially ones with cupcakes! Loved the story and the intro.

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

