Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Above

1 August, 2014

The moon has journeyed one-quarter of its orbit around the earth, the earth has journeyed one fifty-second of its orbit around the sun, rotating seven times on its axis. Yes thats right folks, a week has passed and Friday is with us once more. And that means it’s FriFic o’clock. Rochelle offered us this prompt:

view-from-the-plane

And I wrote these 100 words:

 

I was dreaming of my childhood home, the happier times I once knew there, and something woke me back to the present day. I look to my left through the strengthened cabin window, and below us is the town of my birth.

The ground far below glides by so slowly that it barely seem to be moving. If I hadn’t left then, my life too would be static, unchanging.

Thirty thousand feet – the closest I have been for eleven years. Maybe in the future my travels will take me back there to land, but today, for now, I pass over.

 

 

 

8 Comments
  1. That’s why they call it “fly-over land”. Once you leave, you only look at it from above.

  2. Such a bittersweet moment, and a great use of imagery.

  3. I love the moment when he realizes he’s flying over his home town. Great job with the prompt and very clever indeed! Thanks, Nan 🙂

  4. Reclining Gentleman, Another good, well-written story. Home is somewhere we sometimes have to leave. We’ll change and so will it, but it’s necessary at times to leave so that we can answer our calling in life. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

    • Very wise words Susan, we all have to leave to become our own person, sometimes we need to go back and sometimes we don’t.
      Thanks for your comments and thanks for that word “another” – much appreciated 🙂

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

