Skip to content

Nearly there…

4 August, 2014

It was nine and a half months ago I decided (almost on a whim) that I would fulfill an ambition I’ve had for a good twenty years and I booked flights for a week in Reykjavik. I don’t have a bucket list as such, but if I did, then going to Iceland would be pretty much at the top.

These last couple of weeks it has started to hit me how close I am to realising that dream, and today marks one month until I set off. Admittedly it’s a month and a day till I touch down in Keflavik Airport because flight times mean I will be spending the previous day in London before climbing aboard an early plane the next morning, but it will be exactly one month’s time that I sling my backpack over my shoulder and leave the house. (Flight-related digression – I thought for a short while this would be the first time I visit two capital cities in 24 hours, but then remembered that when I went to Peru I flew from London to Lima via connection in Madrid and refuelling in Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic, so it doesn’t get close to my personal best of four.)

I still haven’t managed to learn much Icelandic – the next 31 days will be a bit more of a crash course revision of those phrases I have picked up and forgotten aswell as trying to learn some more – but I have downloaded the Iclelandic instal of google translate which will probably be quite useful. And my knowledge of Reykjavik geography and what to see and do is pretty well advanced, especially for someone who has never been.

So I’m nearly there. And that countdown calendar is at the front of my mind every waking minute. In theory I am also a month and a week and a day away from coming home again, but I’m not 100% certain I will be taking that flight…

From → Blogging, Iceland, My Head

4 Comments
  1. That is so exciting! It takes a lot of guts to pursue your dreams like that, and it’s great that you’re finally getting to see the place you’ve always wanted to see. It seems like this would be a beautiful time to visit Iceland. Best of luck learning the language!

    • Thanks Iris! Truth is, in the end it didn’t take that much guts, I just said “well, why not?” and booked it. Finding the money to afford it has been tough though 🙂

  2. I’m so happy you are doing this!!!!

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

