Skip to content

How was July for you?

6 August, 2014

August is up and running now, and has been for almost a week. So I know what you’re all thinking… how was Camp Nano for you TRG? Did you manage to fill your July with inspired and highly original, Booker-winning literature?
Well, the answer is no. I kept to my daily target for the first couple of weeks but after that I hit a snag in the transition from one section of the plot to the next. And as my wordcount slipped further behind, it served more as a badge of dishonour and failure than an inspiration and motivation. I didn’t recover from that break, and didn’t write any more.

I am not disheartened though, I knew Camp Nano would only ever be an exercise in discovering whether “39 Cats” had potential, I didn’t expect it to be the project that secured me a three-book deal. And although I only managed 11k words which need a lot of work, I know there is enough there to develop a novel from. And now July has finished, I can return to other work without feeling any guilt that I should really be working on “39 Cats”.

This week I have been re-reading the 5k words or so and plot notes of “Carrington”, the WIP I started at the end of last year as a distraction inbetween re-reads and re-edits of “Four Days”, my only full-length (but still not finished) novel. And I am pleased to say that “Carrington” is better than I remember it being, has an actual plot (which “Four Days” is lacking), and is now front and centre on my TO DO list. I haven’t got the ending completely worked out yet though. I know what the conflict is that the plot leads up to and I have an idea how this will be resolved, but it needs to be thought through fully. And anyway, after 100k words that may not even be where it ends up, plots have a way of writing themselves.

So in short, Camp Nano was an interesting experiment, but it isn’t for me. And I also now realise that I can’t see November Nano with its 50k word target being anything like achievable. But despite this failure, I still have belief. I still think – no, I still KNOW – I am a good enough writer to one day be published. I may not have found the project that will make that happen yet and I may spend too much time fucking about on FB and Twitter when I should be working, but it will happen. Because I am too good for it not to.

From → Blogging, My Head, Writing

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

