Skip to content

A very modern holiday

15 August, 2014

Years ago,  if you wanted to go on holiday you went to a travel agent, read a brouchure and gave them some money.  Maybe you would buy a guide book and/or a phrase book, but otherwise you went home  and waited till the departure date. But in the internet age, I have filled the eight months since deciding to go to Reykjavik in various ways, all of which demonstrate how the web now completely dominates our lives.

 

I booked the flights on easyjet’s website
I researched hostels online
And then booked over the internet
I bought a couple of guide books from Amazon
And I find the recommended places in Google Maps
So I now know where they all are and what they look like

I’ve booked my tour of the Golden Circle online
I’ve booked a walking tour of Reykjavik
And a visitor discount card for museums and buses
And pre-paid for an Icelandic sim card for my phone

I track the exchange rate of the Icelandic kronur
And transfer money into my savings account using a banking app

I am working through a language tuition course on Icelandic Online
And use the google translate website when I’m stuck
I’ve downloaded the google translate app for my phone
Including the offline Icelandic package

I like to check the daily weather outlook in Iceland
I follow various Icelandic twitter accounts
And blogs
Who I message and tweet
And I like to use Facebook to check in to places I will visit

While away, I will use google maps to navigate the streets
And WordPress, twitter, facebook, email, whatsapp and kik to keep in touch with those at home
I’ve set up a flickr account to upload my pics to afterwards
Which I will take using a camera bought from Amazon

And, of course, I bore my blog followers by talking about Iceland

 

The only thing the internet can’t do is actually take me there, I still need to travel to the airport and then be flown there. But I’m sure in a hundred years or we will be able to send ourselves on holiday by touching a screen and teleporting.

 

From → Blogging, Iceland

8 Comments
  1. ismeisreallyme permalink

    enjoy your holiday. thoroughly.

  2. This is so true. And for those of us who aren’t as organized and don’t plan 8 months in advance, it makes life easier. I went for a weekend in Tallinn and Riga with my boyfriend and thanks to the internet we were able to wait till a few days before to book all our tickets/hostel accomodations, and then used the web to decide what to see after we got there.

  3. Well done. Not bored… Yet.

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

