Skip to content

Is this real?

3 September, 2014

Nearly there. Two more days (less than that in fact, less than 36 hours) and I will be on the plane. Other people must be getting mightily sick of me going on about it. Ten months ago I booked the flights, ten months of me wittering on at every opportunity. Everyone goes on holiday, not everyone makes such a big deal of it.

To me though (and this is the excuse I tell myself) this isn’t just a holiday, it’s a tick right at the top of the bucket list. It’s a trip I have wanted to take for twenty years. But even now, so close to take off, it still seems like a far off dream. I have been variously excited and nervous for the last few days but at no point has it seemed real or possible that I’m going. I thought just yesterday that if Bárðarbunga erupts before I leave and spews ash into the air, cancelling my trip, I won’t even be that sad. I’ll be disappointed, obviously, but this whole thing just feels so… other… that I won’t feel any loss. The same as if I saw that there was a £100 million lottery jackpot and I realised I hadn’t bought a ticket – a bit of me would think “that could have been me” but 99% of me would know it was never going to happen. That’s pr0bably why it took me so long to get the enthusiasm to pack this evening. Yes I’m lazy, but mainly I haven’t fully accepted that I’m going. It hasn’t “sunk in” as sporting winners like to say.

I know it’s real though. Once I get to the airport it will start to make sense. I’ve got the tickets. I’ve learnt a few basic phrases that I can get wrong. I’ve booked trips and theatre tickets. I’ve planned more trips, bus journeys, operas, ferry rides, shopping expeditions, cinema visits… a week isn’t long enough for what I already know will be the best trip of my life, and just the first trip of many to a stunningly beautiful country of openarmedly friendly people.

 

Be nice to each other while I’m away, play nicely, and I’ll see you soon. I’ve also bought a camera so that when I get back I can upload a few pics and bore you with them. Who knows, if I meet a nice Icelandic girl and snag myself a job offer, maybe I won’t even come home. Now that would be something to blog about.

From → Blogging, Iceland, My Head

3 Comments
  1. I’m looking forward to your stories and photos. Good Luck and Have Fun!

  2. So close! I don’t mind you talking about it. I love talking about vacations and I look forward to hearing how it went!

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

