Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Teacher

17 October, 2014

It’s time for the weekly gathering of Friday Fictioneers everyone! Enormous gratitude as always to Rochelle for sending prompt pics around the wall for us all to study and scratch our heads over until 100 words come out. Here is this week’s pictoral pondering:

still-life-with-doug

 

And my 100 words go a little bit like this…

 

 

Those who can, do – those who can’t, teach

 

Michael created exquisite artistic forms, but could never find a way to be paid for them, so instead he taught. Maths.

His precisely crafted polyhedrons taught numerous students that Faces plus Vertices minus Edges always equalled two. The attractively mounted shells he displayed unlocked the mystery and poetry of the Fibonacci sequence for every yearly intake.

At regular reunions, former pupils would shake his hand and compliment him on his sculpting skills. But when they failed to remember the mathematical concepts he had taught them, did those compliments have any value?

Β 

 

 

16 Comments
  1. Nice, I like particularly link between Art & Maths. However I hope I never meet my old maths teachers, as I would struggle to remember any concepts of real complexity πŸ™‚

  2. He’s a very ambitious teacher! And he has such good intentions. If only a few students get it, I think it would all be worth it. If not, maybe the students will at least appreciate his artistic endeavors. Great read!

  3. How different! An artist teaching maths…many artists aren’t left-brained enough to be good at them, let alone teach them. And how many of us really remembered what we learned in maths anyway?

  4. Although I have no idea what Fibonacci ,polyhedrons, Faces plus Vertices minus Edges are I love this. I’m thinking you did much research for this and the end result is fabulous. Well done

  5. Dear RG,

    I finally half understand the Fibonacci sequence thanks to a patient friend who keeps telling me I’m better at Math than I think. There can be a mathematical precision to art whether we see it or not. The cuboctahedron is an amazing shape and, as in my story, I’ve found examples of it in origami.

    Alas, I still maintain there are three different kinds of people in this world, those who are good at math and those who aren’t.

    Refreshing take on the prompt. I enjoyed it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. I believe math and art are closely related but I feel bad for your teacher who can’t seem to communicate to his students. Perhaps they are artists.

    • Nature is full of art but built by maths. The two Co exist very closely. I think teaching isn’t really his forte but he has to make a living…

  7. I think Michael’s wonderful. He’s made an impact, and that’s what counts. Great story.

  8. RC, At least his students remembered something from his classes. Good research and well written. πŸ™‚ — Susan

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❀️ welcome to my secret blog ❀️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

