Skip to content

Like A Car Bonnet

15 January, 2015

I have been lazing about in an unproductive fug for too long. It’s time the stopping stopped.

My laptop died back in August, and what with going to Iceland (did I mention I went to Iceland?) and saving for Christmas, affording a laptop has been down the list since then. I have tried writing on my PC since then, but I just can’t do it. I am aware that what I say I don’t like the keyboard, the screen, the speed of the PC, I know I am making excuses. But other than FriFic, my writing stopped.

So I set myself a date. January payday, I insisted, I would buy myself a new laptop – or a second hand laptop if that’s all I could afford – and get back to work. Well today is payday, and at 7.10am I ordered a new £117 laptop. Cheap and cheerful. I only intend to use it for writing, it doesn’t need to be much. And if needs be, I will buy a better, faster one at a later date.

The next steps are as follows:

Collect it
Load Word onto it
Get back to “The Singular Lives of Carrington Sloane”, the WIP that Laptop Death interrupted
Finish it
Polish it
Query it
Get it published
Become a success
Leave my job
Buy a nice house using the cash advance for the film rights
Get a cat

I collect it tomorrow. I will load Word onto it tomorrow. I will get back to Cal Sloane tomorrow. Those are the easy bits. The rest takes work and sustained effort. If I want to get out of this increasingly brain-melting job that fills my weekdays from Nine to Five, if I want to adopt Rambo – the friendly, chatty cat I met at the rescue centre last Sunday – I need to get on it like a car bonnet.

From → Blogging, My Head, Writing

2 Comments
  1. Get the cat first then everything else will fall into place 😀 Damn I’ve missed you, being in my own funk, ah well, lets get moving and keep on a’writing my dear friend ❤

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

