Skip to content

Initially remove Anita Ekberg from untidy fireplace, says me (1,1,1)

2 February, 2015

I have a new laptop, the winter is dark and cold, I am still single despite my pathetic attempts at wooing recently – all perfect circumstances for me to really get to work on the WIP that was interrupted by the death of my old laptop. Except that I have found a new way to waste valuable writing time – learning how to solve cryptic crosswords.

I enjoy a crossword, the normal teatime version, but the bizarre world of the cryptic ones has always been closed to me. It’s like a secret club with its own inpenetrable language and weird injokes, and I want to become a member. Every few years I make a lazy half-effort for a week or two and get nowhere. I can often reverse engineer the answers once I see them and work out how the clues point the way, but like peering the wrong way down a telescope, solving one for myself has remained a very long way off.

Last week, randomly, I decided I would give it another go, and by Jimminy Heck, this time I am going to stick with it. I mentioned this on FB too, and a few people chipped in with advice, but the only way to get good at anything is to keep practising. I have a stab at The Guardian every day, and sometimes the rather easier offering in the i. I can get a few clues in each one, and look forward to the day when I can finish the whole thing.

Is this helping my writing? Not in the slightest. But I like a mental challenge – I really took to sudoku when they first landed about 15 years back – and the cryptic certainly offers that. And the satisfaction of being able to fully appreciate the crossword will surely be on a par with the day I kept eating blue cheese until I learnt to like that.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, this is how to solve the title of this post – by removing Anita Ekberg’s initials (AE) from a fireplace (GRATE) you get GRT. Untidy indicates an anagram , and the “me” is the overall clue to the answer: TRG. Simple eh?

From → Blogging, My Head

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

