Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Maze

6 February, 2015

And suddenly a week has gone by. Woosh. Rochelle’s weekly FriFic prompt pinged into my inbox ready to be the inspiration for another round of round-the-world writing. Here it is:

garden-maze

You’re here to read my 100 words I expect so I’d better give you those aswell:

 

 
Time and age can alter memory’s perspective; places and objects from the past seem smaller when revisited. Childhood emotions reduce with time, too. But they never disappear.

Years ago, the hedgerow maze grandpa created in his garden was a terrifying, impossible labyrinth, surrounding me on all sides with impenetrable foliage and the unseen laughter of my elder cousins. Today it stands waist-high to me, but I still feel that panic.

And seeing the hut behind it, I feel the beatings I received for my cowardly crying when my cousins left me lost in the maze. That pain does not subside.

 

 

21 Comments
  1. We’ve all been there – hopefully not with the beatings, but the discovery about what has stayed with us from childhood and what has changed. Nice story, great writing.

  2. I never understood the logic of beatings to stop a person from crying. I guess it’s a cumulative thing. Anyway, I enjoyed your story and truly hope it was fiction. Have a great weekend.

  3. Wonderful, horrible…
    Thought it was to do with being lost and left out (which is bad enough) and then the devastating ending…
    Puts me in mind of soldiers being shot for not wanting to shoot each other.

  4. So sad. I too, hope it was pure fiction.

  5. Basically, being beaten for being afraid. Sad, very sad.

  6. Dear RG,

    Those tapes set to playing in our childhood seem to continue forever, don’t they? Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. Oh, this packs a bite. Just enough story to camouflage a lesson in bad parenting and its fruits. Well done.

  8. Such a sad story. He may be coping with the maze now, but he’s obviously never going to cope with the painful memories of his childhood.

  9. I think everyone has memories like this – that leave such strong impressions they never leave even if we grow out of the fear or misconception. Well done.

  10. Bad memories indeed. Memories that did’t recede with time. Good job!

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

