Skip to content

Sometimes writing isn’t a chore

26 February, 2015

Douglas Adams was right, he usually was about most things. Writing, he said, is easy. You just stare at a blank piece of paper until your forehead bleeds. We all recognise that feeling, that sense that it just isn’t happening.

I have been struggling to get any momentum going on my WIP lately. About ten days or so ago I decided the plot needed to be restructured. Not a huge disaster as I’m only about 5000 words in and the bulk of that start will stay (with a little editing), but it still meant I had a lot of thinking to do before I could properly get going again, and this put the brakes on the tiny amount of momentum I had managed to build up. So at lunch today, I determined that I would get something written, something of worth. I usually write from start to finish but I didn’t want to carry on from where I had left off, and I didn’t want to start again again. I decided that I would jump a few chapters to the point where the two main characters meet because (a) that scene involves a car crash which would be fun interesting to write and (b) I don’t know the two of them that well yet and seeing how they react when they meet would be a good exercise. In case you’re wondering, they don’t crash their cars into each other, it’s much more interesting than that.

Anyway, lunchtime. I edited this week’s FriFic (which you can read tomorrow when it publishes), failed to solve any of the crossword, and then opened a new document. In the twenty minutes left of my lunch break, I wrote 500 words before I had to interrupt the flow. And a flow it was, I had one of those illuminating, inspiring and, yes, enjoyable, writing sessions where the words wouldn’t stop. Details around the scene I hadn’t noticed or thought about appeared on my screen. An understanding of how the primary character’s head works and how the unusual circumstances of his life can be described came to me from the mystery place where the writing originates before it gets sent to us. In short, it was a brilliant session, and I was annoyed at having to break into it, but elated at how well it had gone. That elation is just the prompt I need to push on and make some progress on the Work In Progress. Sometimes writing isn’t a chore.

From → Blogging, My Head, Writing

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

