Skip to content

Iceland Update

24 March, 2015

It’s been a month or so since I bought my ticket for Sónar Reykjavík and confirmed that I will be going back. So far (apart from be excited and tell everyone) that’s all I’ve done about it though. The flights aren’t on sale as far ahead as next February yet so I can’t book those up but the second they do, I will be first in (on) line to make sure I get the best possible deal.

I don’t yet know what the flight schedule will be, so I don’t know how many days I will be in Iceland and I can’t book any accomodation if I don’t know my travel dates. Sónar runs from Thursday to Saturday, so in a perfect world I would book flights one day either side of this. Not that I don’t want to spend more time in my favourite country, but every day I’m there will cost money and I already have another break planned for June next year. Two holidays are pricier than one, as the saying goes. If it does work out that I have a few spare days though, I’ve been looking into activities and trips I can go on. I haven’t been to Snæfellsness, for example. And Akureyri is only a 45 minute flight (or an eight hour bus ride) away. There is so much country to explore.

But it may not be completely up to me. I mentioned to a friend at work that I was going back to Iceland, and she expressed her jealousy. Half-jokingly I sent her a link to the Sónar site and told her tickets were still on early bird price. It turns out that Iceland is on her bucket list and she is now genuinely thinking over whether she will come too. It’s a question of cash, she too has other holidays and other expenses to balance, but I may have a co-traveller for this trip. Or maybe it is all initial enthusiasm and she won’t want to come after all, time will tell. The day the flights (eventually) go on sale will bring the decision to a head.

How do I feel about going on holiday with another person? I am a very selfish independent person, and the thought of maybe having to potentially compromise my plans for someone else (would she want to go on an eight hour bus trip?) does go against my instincts. But at the same time, being able to share such a great trip and such a brilliant festival with someone who will appreciate it will make the whole thing that much more enjoyable. And if she wanted to go on the Golden Circle trip for example – because you can’t go to Iceland and not do the Circle – part of me would feel I didn’t want go on a trip I have already experienced. But then again, the Icelandic landscape is completely different and even more impressive in winter, so it would be like a new excursion. And being the one who knows all the good places to eat and drink in the city will be cool too. So we shall see. But like I say, maybe she won’t come along. I will keep you posted.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, there is no possibility of any holiday romance between the two of us, just two people going away together. But I think it might be fun. Or we may end up hating each other, that’s the other potential outcome. Whatever happens, or doesn’t, it will all be type up here, on my blog, for not many people to read.

From → Blogging, Iceland, My Head

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

