Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – I Was Here First

3 April, 2015

It may be a four-day weekend holiday but FriFic stops for no one! The legendary prompt pic was sent by the legendary leader and coordinator Rochelle:

lauren-moscato

and all across the planet, keyboards tippytapped out 100 words each.

These are my ones:

 

 

I was here first.

When there was nothing here but crossroads and mileposts, I built this house from the bottom up. And its cellar from the bottom down.

When the factory opened and the workers needed houses, I declined the compensation, refused to move. They had to build round me.

When they built a bypass and lowered the road, I stayed put. They had to dig round me.

Now my cellar is the ground floor, my front door is ten feet up. And that’s fine. It stops kids playing knock-and-run, cuts down on junkmail.

 

I’m staying.

I was here first.

 

 

 

 

 

23 Comments
  1. I like a man with determination. And an upstairs cellar.

  2. oouuu, we use to do that to our neighbors. We were naughty when we were bored. Knock and runs. Great story!

  3. Dig in your heels! Don’t let ’em run you out. Delightful take on the prompt.

  4. Good for him, sticking by his guns!

  5. hahaha … a fun take on the photo prompt. I think many people that way when their neighborhood is being taken over. I like this interpretation. : )

  6. Great story, RG. There are some old houses here that are now a step below the promenade and flood every time the waves are too vigorous.

  7. A clever response to the prompt. 🙂 I like the way the story flows, and the repeat of the first line at the end is very effective, This man certainly stuck to his guns. Nicely done. 🙂

  8. Way to be stubborn. Clever take on the prompt!

  9. A very satisfying story – I like the character’s tenacity, and I like how you’ve put the story together.

  10. Dear TRG,

    And that is what makes a good story. I love his orneriness, cussedness, spited nature and eft you attitude. Well imagined.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

