Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Balconies

4 September, 2015

Greetings followers and occasional passers-by, it’s FriFic o’clock again! With a timekeeping accuracy as precise as one of those atomic clocks, Rochelle sends a prompt pic every week to twelve billion writers in this world, and in others yet to be found. This week the pic is one of her own. This one in fact…

bay-windows

If you click here you can read the fiction it inspired in all those other writers. But don’t forget to come back and read my 100 words, even if they are a bit rushed this week…

 

 

Literature is full of romantic balconies, of heroines wooed by suitors, enraptured and enamoured below them. Romeo yearned for sweet Juliet, the prince folically emplored Rapunzel, Christian enlisted Cyrano to win Roxanne’s heart from the shadows.

My fourth storey bedroom doesn’t have a balcony. The voices I hear below my window belong not to princes and lovers, their lives devoted to winning my hand, but to late night drinkers trying to remember their way home.

There is no place for fairy tale romance in the real world, instead there are dates and online subscriptions.

Some day my Prince will match.com.

27 Comments
  1. Nice one! I’ve never seen the past tense of ‘implore’ before so I’ve learned something, as well as starting my day with a smile.

  2. Looking for love on the internet is like looking for gold in a lead mine.

  3. Awwww good luck, I hope your prince comes!

  4. I hope she finds a similarly cynical match. She needs to give up on finding a prince, however. They’re only in the fairy tales. Love this story.

  5. This is very good. You are right about the Atomic Clock.

  6. Oh, so very good. 🙂

    janet

  7. Fun story. I loved the follically emplored Rapunzel.

  8. As someone who did the online dating thing for many years all I can say is “Ugh”. 😉

    • I’ve never tried it but I imagine you have to reject alot of frogs whose online profiles make them out to be princes…

      • Well that is true but the worst part is the way you are treated when you reject someone; even a perceived rejection. I got hate mail from men who didn’t like what I had to say in my profile before ever corresponding with them. Anyway…good story you obviously spoke to (at least) me with it. 🙂

      • That’s a danger of online communication – people can say things to you and be less considerate than they would in real life. Whether it’s online dating or chatrooms or twitter etc etc, they can hide behind that remove.
        I’m glad you enjoyed the story!

  9. What a fun piece. That last line made me snicker. I like the voice here. I have a feeling she’d (or maybe he?) meet her Prince in some satisfyingly odd way.

  10. I love the story, especially the “my price will match.com” part.

  11. Cynical, but I still chuckled at the end!

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

