Skip to content

C – Friday Fictioneers – Glass

1 January, 2016

So it’s 2016. I don’t understand how that happened. And yet I also realised that saying the year 2000 still sounds like the future to me, more so than 2016 does. Maybe because 2016 is a year so far into the future that it doesn’t even sound like something a year would ever be called.

Anyway, here we are, in a year far beyond all human understanding. We are still denied the moon colonies, flying cars and meals-in-a-pill that the sci-fi of our childhoods promised us but hey, it’s not all bad. We have FriFic, and we have Rochelle to curate it for us. My personal time calendar is further confused this week by the prompt pic

coffee_in_mirror_02-1

being a re-run from back(?) in 2012. I know, how can that be three years ago? We have been offered a freebie this week but mainly to keep me from sitting round the house drinking whisky, eating cheese and watching DVDs, I’ve written a fresh story.  You can click here to visit the Blue Frog and read everyone else’s entry. Or if you’re interested you can click here to see what I wrote back in 2012.

And once you’ve finished all that clicking and reading, scroll down the page a few lines to find my 100 words. Feel free to add a comment and a criticism, I like to know what you think and what you feel doesn’t work.

 

 

Jenny sat at a formica table and mouthed “coffee” to the waitress. She dropped her bulging backpack on the floor and sighed. No going back, no repairing the rifts, no unsaying the words, no unburning the bridges.

Through the window she saw the Real Estate office opposite, the Bus Stop sign outside. She would soon be needing one of those, maybe both.

The window’s stained glass cast rainbow shadows across the table and she outlined them with a finger. Separately, the pieces were shards of broken glass but together, rebuilt, the image they created was full of light and colour.

 

 

 

28 Comments
  1. Wow I’m new to blogging and this hundred words or less Friday fiction really cool great idea. I like your writing style. I’m wondering what else is going through the girls mind that you wrote about I wanted more. Sorry for the punctuation errors. I’m doing this all on my cell phone talk. Happy new year keep up the good work.

    • Hi Nananettie, thanks for reading and for commenting. I’m not sure what happened in the girl’s life that brought her to the cafe or what she is thinking – sometimes 100 words only allows us to see a snapshot – but the fact you want to know more is flattering and means I must have done my job right 🙂
      If you want to get involved in FriFic, go to Rochelle’s page: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/12/30/1-january-2016/ and join in! The more the merrier.
      PS don’t worry about punctuation, it’s never easy by phone.

      • No problem was my pleasure and truly your last paragraph got me because it was so descriptive…loved the whole thing and think you did well. You reeled me right in lol!! Thanks for the link and I just may get involved. Happy new years!

      • Hope to read your 100 words next week 🙂

      • I’m a bit nervous I will have to say….but trying new things is good! Until then I will keep reading yours and others involved to get some motivation! Lol happy blogging!

  2. Poetic philosophy. Perfect for New Years Day!

  3. Your last sentence says it all. Brilliant.

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

  4. I really like this piece. It’s sad but hopeful. I’m glad the cheese and whiskey didn’t distract you from FF.
    Happy New Year,
    Tracey

  5. Love the image of the rainbow shadows, the colors pieced together into a whole, especially given the sad disruption hinted at in the beginning of the story.

    Also, drinking whiskey, eating cheese, and watching DVDs sounds like an excellent way to spend the day to me!

    • Thanks for reading Joy and for commenting. I’m glad you enjoyed my effort this week, it was good to take a day off the Christmas laziness 🙂

  6. I absolutely love this! That last sentence packs a wonderful punch. After the break up, let the rebuilding begin. Yes, love.

  7. I really like the way the ends turns to new beginnings… really a good piece for a new year.

  8. Dear RG

    Great use of the window as a metaphor. Colorful piece.

    We may not have flying cars or meals in a pill but we do have cell phones (telecommunicators), microwave ovens, personal computers and Skype…even two-way wrist tv’s. We really are living the sci-fi of our childhoods, aren’t we? I remember when having a pen-pal across the sea was a big deal and now I have at least 100 of them. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • That’s true, we have come a long way technology-wise. So far that video cassettes are now a thing of the past and soon CDs will be too.
      And yes, the internet and smart phones mean we have 100+ penpals (keyboardpals?) in our pockets 🙂

  9. This is very good. I like your structure – Jenny’s arrival , the back story, the hopeful view to the future. Very nicely done. Great descriptions too.

  10. I would guess the panels of colored glass are a metaphor for the new life she intends to build for herself. Well woven together, RG. 🙂 — Suzanne

  11. Happy New Year to you and yours, RG. 🙂 — Suzanne

  12. Sounds like the perfect day for a new beginning!

    • Hi Roger, thanks for reading and commenting. I think their friendship has reached a crossroads, even if Richard doesn’t realise it. Which way it goes from here, I don’t know.

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

