Skip to content

C – Friday Fictioneers – Steps

15 January, 2016

Happy Middle of January everyone! That’s right, we’re halfway through the first month of 2016 and (very nearly) closer to the next payday than the last. Rejoice! Also as it’s Friday that means it’s time to lay down some freestyle flash fiction in the form of the legendary FriFic. You know the deal by now – Rochelle unleashes a prompt pic and we all suck our pencils and stare out of the window as we await the arrival of 100 words.

I really liked this week’s picture

amy-reese

from Amy Reese and as I opened it I imagined an unstoppable torrent of literary ideas to burst forth. Sadly that wasn’t to be and despite my admiration for Amy’s photo, the words didn’t come.

I did eventually knock something together, but it really isn’t up to the standard I aim for and as a result I’m not adding my link to the blue frog this week. If you’ve found this post then thank you for reading. Feel free to ignore my 100 substandard words but if you do read them, leave me a comment criticising them. Be honest, be brutal – it can’t be any less flattering than my own opinion of my work this week.

But enough of this burbling, here is my FriFic:

 

 

The concrete steps behind the shops were crumbling but a perfect Friday night post-pub shortcut. Until one Friday a group of youngsters had gathered there; some sitting, some standing, some smoking, most hooded. I slowed my pace

“Alright, mate,” one called. Others turned towards me, those seated stood. The overgrown trees offered cover, further darkening a cloud-covered night. Several of them approached. “Got any money?” they asked.

I offered my wallet. “Just take it,” I stuttered.

The clouds parted, allowed moonlight to illuminate a friendly face.

“Just a few quid thanks,” he smiled, “we’re fundraising to get these steps repaired.”

 

 

 

 

6 Comments
  1. If you can write even better than that, I look forward to the next

  2. A nice twist, I was worried there for a minute!

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

